Bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2004, 07:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default Bios

I have tried many things, but I can't seem to enter the BIOS on my computer. I've done it on my brother's computer no problem, but I have a Sony RX560 with the Asus P4B-LX Motherboard (OEM I think). Here's the motherboard documentation: http://www.asus.com/pub/asus/mb/sock.../p4blx-100.pdf

When I boot, I can get two different screens:

1) Choose Boot Device (eg. Floppy, SCSI, CD-ROM, Hard Drive)

2) Boot Options (eg. Last Known Good Configuration, Safe Mode, Debugging Mode, etc.)

However, no BIOS, ever. I have tried delete, escape, all the function keys, no luck. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

u tryed to press delete or f1 when its loading up?
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Most likely you have to hit a key on your keyboard to get to your BIOS.

The most common keys are the Delete key, Tab, F1, F2 or F12.

Play around until one of those works out for you and let us know how it goes.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

nope, nothing...is it possible that Sony locked the BIOS so I can't get in?
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

if sony is that strict and they dont want u OCing... then um maybe?
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 01:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

you probably already tried this, but have you tried holding F1? that was the problem when i thought i couldn't enter BIOS on my compaq.
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 07:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

NICE!!! I'm printing the out and restarting right now thxxxx!!!
__________________

__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.