Big Typhoon is amazing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2006, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Big Typhoon is amazing

I just got the Big Typhoon in today, and I am extremely impressed. It's way bigger and heavier than I thought it would be, but the installation was no problem. Here are some before and after temps.

With AMD Stock Heatsink
Idle: 44
Load: 59

With Big Typhoon
Idle: 31
Load: 43

The temperature drop is unreal. Also, I just put the new Arctic Silver 5 on, so there might even be a 2 degree drop or so over the next few days depending on if the Arctic Silver sets well or not.

Overall though, I am EXTREMELY impressed by this cooler and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great cooling solution.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

yea, but isn't it BIIIIGGGG typhoon? is it something people would have a problem with fitting in certain cases or on certain motherboards you think?
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Yeah it's huge, but it comes with metal mounting brackets and it feels very secure. Your case needs to be at least 8" wide for the Typhoon to fit in or else there won't be enough room for air flow.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

jump on my big typhoon bandwagon why dont you

i totally agree the typhoon is great, nuff said

Edit: anyone scared of its size...... i feel sorry for you, size does matter
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

nice temps, thats a huge temperature difference!
doodle dee is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Are you sure you applied the thermal paste correctly? With my scythe ninja, my 165 idles at 27c, and 38c full load (at stock speeds). I had similar temps with my 146 as well. The ninja and the big typhoon are susposed to perform the about the same, so that is why I'm thinking you must have incorrectly applied the thermal paste.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

003, isn't the Opteron stock voltage 1.4V? My 3700+ is an old Clawhammer and the stock voltage is 1.5V. Do you think that is the difference?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Opteron stock voltage is more like 1.3vcore...although 003 has a multicore which will generate a fair share of heat and I still haven't heard any confirmation that the temperature readouts are accurate or not with the Opterons

They seem right to me, but many people argue that they're wrong so I dunno
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I live in South Texas and it's about 80 degrees outside right now during the day, so my room definitely has a fairly high ambient temperature.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Right now I have an odd situation though. Earlier today, when I first installed the heatsink, my temps were as follows.

Idle: 31
Load: 43

But now, it's been about 6 hours or so, and my temps are

Idle: 37
Load: 44

Why is the idle getting higher but the load staying pretty much the same, and why are they increasing, not decreasing? It's not that substantially much hotter in my room.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.