BFG card question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 03:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Default BFG card question

question 1: how much does the power supply matter in running a video card? i have a bfg 6200 oc that requires min 250w power supply and that's exactly how much my current power supply is in my computer. all of the games i play work fine, except for counterstrike and day of defeat. sometimes while i'm playing it would just freeze and then unfreeze after about 30+ seconds. then a few times it wouldn't unfreeze at all and the computer just restarts on its own.

question 2: how come the only nvidia driver version that works with my bfg card is the one that came with it? when i tried to update to the most current version (or any version for that matter) i would have trouble running videos (i.e. it wouldn't run at all and my computer would freeze up). but when i revert back to the version on the CD that came in the box, the video works fine.

p4 2.8ghz, 1gb, 80gb, bfg 6200 oc pci
__________________

kida is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Default

so anyone know the answer to either question? or both?
__________________

kida is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 07:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Well all i know is that my buddy had a 350watt psu in his computer and he was running a fx5200 graphics card, he could only run far cry on low settings. He needed a new psu and he got a fortron 400watt psu now he can play far cry almost on high.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 09:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Default

I would say that you need a new psu.
nicholasp7 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Default

hmm...that's what i kinda figured too, thanks!
kida is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cdub89
Well all i know is that my buddy had a 350watt psu in his computer and he was running a fx5200 graphics card, he could only run far cry on low settings. He needed a new psu and he got a fortron 400watt psu now he can play far cry almost on high.
Hahaha, there's no way you're going to play Farcry on high with a FX5200. Also, a power supply with 50 more watts is not going to do ANYTHING for video card performance...sorry.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 02:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: BFG card question

1) You need to look at the 12V rail to determine whether your PSU can handle the 6200 or not. Chances are you need a bigger (not watt wise, though) PSU. Most watts you'll ever need (for now) is around 600.

2) nVidia drivers have always been rather hit-or-miss, it seems. It is not a rare thing for new drivers to be released and they are completely worthless. Search google for the best 6200 drivers.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
Hahaha, there's no way you're going to play Farcry on high with a FX5200. Also, a power supply with 50 more watts is not going to do ANYTHING for video card performance...sorry.
I said almost and we noticed a big difference in his performance. Why would i make up this?
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 11:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Re: BFG card question

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
1) You need to look at the 12V rail to determine whether your PSU can handle the 6200 or not. Chances are you need a bigger (not watt wise, though) PSU. Most watts you'll ever need (for now) is around 600.

2) nVidia drivers have always been rather hit-or-miss, it seems. It is not a rare thing for new drivers to be released and they are completely worthless. Search google for the best 6200 drivers.
thanks! so you're saying that i probably need a bigger (in size instead of watts) PSU? also what's a good PSU brand?

pardon my ignorance, i don't really know much about computer hardware.
kida is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

no, you need a psu with higher amps, along with the watts

and as for being ignorant, we were all there at one point, and thats why you're here asking
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.