Best technique for applying thermal paste? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2008, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Question Best technique for applying thermal paste?

Tomorrow my new components arrive and I wanted to ask how I should be applying the thermal paste to my Q6600. I think I heard that a vertical line is for dual core, and a horizontal line is for quad core....with my old pc I had just applied the thermal paste to the entire surface of the CPU in an even layer. Which is the best way?

Not sure if it really matters, but I got the Arctic Cooling MX-2 Thermal Paste
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING MX-2 Thermal Compound - Retail
__________________

Mordred is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

apply a thin line across the words on the middle of the cpu.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?



Like that?
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

Yup.

No need to spread it or anything
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

I put a dot in the middle , either way works
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

Thanks guys.
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 06:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

The dot method is for a dual core. Line for quad core.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
I put a dot in the middle , either way works
Indeed, just a dot. Otherwise you're just wasting thermal grease.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

How big of a dot you guys put? Im gonna install a new cpu in a couple days.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Best technique for applying thermal paste?

dual core = grain of rice
quad core = thin line.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I put on thermal paste? aetherh4cker System Upgrades 2 01-06-2008 12:12 AM
OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset! imconfused Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 11-26-2007 08:21 PM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.