Best Prebuilt Water Cooling? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2006, 12:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
He already has a Zalman.

And the the original poster, the best solution for w/c is a full sized xase.
haha...didnt take the time to read....
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 01:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by will h4x 4 food
i know i have a small case but i can put the radiator on the top of my case. The reason i want water cooling is because of my room temperature in my house is usually 77-80 degrees(depending on the time of day) and it can get pretty hot in my room which means high temps for parts even with my 3rd party heatsinks. since the radiator would be on the outside of my comp, the temps would be a lot lower. Although i have not installed watercooling, i am determined to do it and i have a lot of experience with building computers. If anyone would like to help me find a better and maybe a cheaper kit then the gigabyte i would be delighted. just make sure it has a radiator that fits in a drive bay. Also, where would i put a pump in my case? i looks like u have to screw those down somewhere. lol that was a dumb question. i'll read that guide someone sent me and not be such a "n00b".
OKay then I have a propostition for you. Lets jsut go onto petratechshop, buy your pump, radiator, resivor, water blocks etc. and begin modding that case.

For the radiator, mount it on the top buy cutting a hole with just enough room on each corner to screw it in. The put a piece of wide spaced mesh over top of it so someone doesnt smahs it in. Mount 2 high cfm fans on the bottom, you will need lots of airflow with a little radiator. I would go with something just big enough for 2 120mm fans. Mount your pump on the bottom of the case, and the resivior where the rear 120mm fan would have been, next to the mobo.

That is a start, it will be cramped but it will also get the job done. hope it gives you nad idea to build off of.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 06:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
If you want a radiator outside of your case then take a look at this.
He wants to take that to lan parties :freak:

I say just buy a new case cause mid towers aren't to good at fitting water cooling
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 09:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

lance... do you have any idea what you talking about?

replacing a rear fan with the reservoir, is not only stupid, (the motherboard absolutely requires irflow over certain components, but most reservoirs are meant to fit into a drive bay...

Also the easiest way to mount a radiator is to use a radbox and mount it on the back of the case
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 10:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to Ice breaker
Default

Ok, I am in the same boat as the original poster, come the first of the year I'm upgrading to a full tower case amongst other things. What would be the best water cooler set up to keep my chip running at decent temps while its oc'd, and considering I have to move every year, I need something that can withstand a move to the other side of the world.

Ice
Ice breaker is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

I have seen a thermaltake kit that has the tank and pump in the drive bays. since the name brand kits suck i was wondering if any good companies made them like that. also, for the radiator, couldnt i just use some velcrow to stick it on the top of my case? I don't really feel like drilling holes in my case, especially since it would be very hard to find the right places to drill. lets say the Gigabyte kit(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835128015) works out and fits. would i see a big decrease in temps compared to my 50C idle temp that i have currently? there is also the thermaltake bigwater SE that i know will fit in my case, but that one looks like crap.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 06:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Why nobody listens to my advice when I use water cooling, ill never know.

Mount it on the back of your case!

If possible, buy the mcr-220 radiator, then buy the 90 degree elbow barbs for it.

Mount it on the back of your case using either a radbox, or a gutted 120mm fan.

Then run tubing into your case through the pci bracket area.

Put the pump in the bottom of your case

and instead of using a reservoir, use a t-line as they save a lot of space.

Pics can be provided if need be.

-aspire
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 07:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

i would like pics please. i was looking on that website and configured this: PUMP: http://www.petrastechshop.com/swmcin12pu.html
RAD: http://www.petrastechshop.com/dadenblicext.html(this should be big enough, right?)
CPU BLOCK: http://www.petrastechshop.com/sicyev1lga77.html

all the other stuff i need help with.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 08:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Most of the resevoirs I have seen are put back there. And they have the case feet with a fan in the bottom of the case. and the 2 120mm fans blowing throught the radiator pulling the air out.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 08:21 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

this looks like the best solution:http://www.petrastechshop.com/pecoba.html
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.