The best PCI graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2005, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default The best PCI graphics card

Well, I am rather unfortunate and have a stupid compaq with only PCI slots.
My mobo specs:
CLICK
My current Card specs:
CLICK

I am wondering what is the best PCI card I can get? I kno its very limited, but I don't want to buy an agp mobo. So whats the best? And will it be compatible with my mobo? I have been looking at this:
CLICK
Is that the best PCI card, and will that be compatible with my comp?
Or maybe this one?
CLICK

Any help will be appreciated.
__________________

WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

dude this guy said pci not pci-e look at the mobo info

k well the best ur gonna get is probebly somtin like an ati 9250

my friend has a 9200 and it does the job for mild level gaming some games even run fine on high settings just no aa or af
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

He already has a 9250. He is wanting a card that will deliver him much more performance, but that is very hard to find on PCI. Under normal circumstances, its best not to get a GeForce FX series card and get a Radeon 9xxx series. This is different though. I would go ahead and get that FX 5700. Its probably going to be the best PCI card you are going to find. I didn't even know they made cards that high in PCI. If you can find a Radeon 9600 in PCI, get it, but if you can not, get the GeForce FX 5700.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Counter-Strike
NO NO do NOT get a 5700 bloody hell! Always go ATI. Looks like you can't go PCI-E with that pic of ur MoBo. I just say get a 9600 SE or something that is overclockable and has 256MB RAM.
Umm, that is the most senseless post ever.

The FX-5700 is the best PCI card, however even a 9250 is bottlenecked by the PCI interface.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 12:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

So get a 5700? is there a 256 version of the 5700?
and how performance wise would it be better than the 5500? cuz that says it has PCIx8, which I am guessing is better, but will it work with my mobo?
WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 02:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your mobo doesnt have "PCIx8" which I am assuming by tyhis your meaning PCI-E 8X. You have some genric run of the mill crap (hey, it's better than dell...) motherboard

Dont worry about a 256 version, just get a 128
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

"nVIDIA FX5500 256MB 8x PCI Dual Head Video Card"
Doesnt say anything about PCI-E
WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well im guessing it's refering to 8x AGP since it's probolly nativly a AGP card with a bridge.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

hmmm, ok guys, thnx for the help. Is there anything higher than an ati 9250 that is available in pci?
WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well 9250's aren't bad. Unless your a hardcore gamer like HL2, Doom 3, etc...
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.