Best Motherboard For E8400? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2008, 07:52 PM   #61 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

its a hobby ... an expensive one.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 08:01 PM   #62 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

i didnt feel like reading everything.. but the problem.. what i've read on xtreme systems, on the e8400, is degredation of the life of the cpu itself.. people who are overclocking are finding their cpu's are dying... or say, the longer they have em overclocked they find some odd reason they are needing more and more voltage to keep the same cpu frequency over time
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 08:07 PM   #63 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

O.o odd... link?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 08:10 PM   #64 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

ya i'll look it up on xs really quick, i'm at work, so i don't like doing extensive browsing
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 08:48 PM   #65 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

oh, wow...
that is not good. Long as it doesnt degrade too fast, I dont mind. I am gonna pick up a nehalem and a new mobo prob a few months after they come out
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 08:59 PM   #66 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

i'm not gonna say that is confirmed for all 45nm cpu's... but there have been some reported causes.. i think it may be after you reach a certain vcore.. so watch out.. and don't set it too high
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 10:04 PM   #67 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

I set mine at 1.325 at the highest so far. And I am running at 4.05ghz right now. I could go higher, but my stupid motherboard wont let me unlink the fsb:dram.. so I can only go as high as my ram will. and tonight that was 4.176, but 3dmark had an error everytime I tried. so later I will put in my gskill, and push the voltage way up, see if i can get a little more outta the ram
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 08:50 PM   #68 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

just picke dup the e8400 for 200$ at microcenter. waiting for my ASUS P5N-D, crucial ballistix 2x 1gb, and arctic freezer 7 pro to come in!!! should be here thurs.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:14 PM   #69 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Best Motherboard For E8400?

oh man it is a fun chip, you are really gonna enjoy it
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 07:36 AM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 08:40 AM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 12:24 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 10:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.