Best Memory to OC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 04:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

My friend has G. Skill, and it's amazing. Alot of ppl think Corsair is good for OC'ing, IT'S NOT.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Nah, its not Crucial.. I just cant think of it, buts its samsung n brainpower like G.skill at 2-2-2-5.. my friend ordered some off overclockers.com.au , when i see him next ill ask him..
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

i don't think any corsair's use the samsund TCCD's

the best combo=samsung tccd+brainpower pcb (the green board the black chips **** on)

g skill LA's are definitely your best bet
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, I got a pretty unanymous answer. G. Skill LA's it is! Well, I'm really excited about my rig. It's not going to be for a bit, months maybe, but when I do get it and OC the hell outta it I will be sure to post pics.

Thanks everyone!
-Bones
Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 09:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

i love my PQI Turbo. Works fine wid me.. OC it to pc3700 .. it was 3200 before. and its rock stable ^_^
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 02:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

The three types that Gaara posted are the best possible OC RAM you can get your hands on. Over all you'll find out that G Skill LA's will OC more then others. But OCZ rev2 and Patriot XBL arent far apart from LA's. Im not completely certain which of these three cost the most. But i would get the cheapest. Because VERY few people will OC Patriot XBL to its limit, and wish they have gotten G Skill.

All of these types of RAM can handle a 800mhz increase. Thats around an extra 40 degree celcius increase in heat. Good luck keeping this kind of OC stable. Basically what im saying, is that all three are extremely qualified for high OC. Along with very few people that have extreme cooling systems, are going to OC every component to its architectural limit. So just buy which everone is less expensive.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 06:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Well, I'm looking to OC to the max here. I'm desining my own custom cooling system, with my buddy, and it is going to be extreme... TO THE MAX!!! So the temp increase wont bother me, because I will just do whatever to cool it.
Him is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 07:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

sure the Rev2's and patriot XBL's are very good, but the G skill LA's are still the best

some guy on the egg (dunno if he's bsing) reached 328fsb on 2.8v
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 07:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Hmmm.... So that means I could only go higher.

I guess I'll grab up the G. Skill LA's. Where is the best place I could get them for cheap-er?
Him is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 07:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the only place i've seen them at is t3h eggx0r (newegg)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.