Best Intel Processor - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2005, 08:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876

yep the 3.73ghz ee, or the 3.8ghz

phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey

WOW...looked at newegg the price diffrence is sic..I really doubt the performance is worth it.

evelmunkey is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Senseless, are you saying your 3200 is OC to 3.35ghz?
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 284

haha, thats funny, R U?
comrad is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635

no, typo.. its 2.35
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 09:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

lol don't get the 3.74 EE get the 3.46 as its faster in some apps and only the tiniest bit slower in others. cheaper, and better ocing
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 10:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via Yahoo to night_ranger

the 3.8 ghz
night_ranger is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

The EE's are junk. The price to performance ratio does not justify spending $1,000
The best CPU intel has now is this one. (64 BIT)
INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Zeeg

Originally posted by senseless
amd 64 3500
LOL this is INTEl not AMD LOLOL

My (Dell) PC
Zeeg is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

I tend to agree with uzi9mm, the XE Intel's use a Level 3 cache for the 2MB, which I have read is much slower (although still technically speaking very fast) than the L2 cache.

The newer 600 Intel's have the 2MB on their Level 2 cache, so they will generally run faster, and it makes their price tag cheaper. The 64 bit option is just the icing on the cake.

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.