Best Graphics card to overclocker? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 182
Question Best Graphics card to overclock?

Right, i am wanting to get a new graphics card but i want one that will overclock easily and effectivly. Can anyone of you wonderful people suggest the perfect card for overclocking?

Merci
__________________

gamingslave is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

eVGA 6800GT 256mb Card. Can apparantly overclock easily to Ultra Speeds.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Heck, i got my plain 6800 overclocked to 420, almost ultra speeds, ultra is 425. the memory is also overclocked to ultra speeds which is 1100mhz. It's a heck a lot cheaper to do it my way. With a plain 6800 you get a single slot heatsink and fan, instead of being a beast in size like the GT and the Ultra taking up two slots due to it's oversized cooling. Oh, the plain 6800 only needs one power hook up too. If you get ASUS, you get a free overclocking tool and the heatsink has bright blue LEDs.

Can I pimp my card any more? No.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

the ultra is the only card that takes up 2 slots... and the problem with the plain 6800 is the lack of ddr3 ram... which results in being that even if you have your plain 6800 clocked higher than that of a GT you still wont get the performance the GT gives you... easier to buy the gt (fits in one single slot) and overclock it to beyong ultra speeds... which can be done very easily

EDIT: just read ur system specs.. if u have that asus v999 gamers edition 6800 or something than you paid a lot more for it than you should have.. you could gave gotten a msi or evga or even a pny verto card for cheaper.. and still have been able to oc it
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

6800GT.....i've heard great results about overclocking this card. Although I don't recommend X800 Pros, the Visiontek X800 Pro is a great overclocker too.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

well with the x800 pros you only get 12 pipelines (compared to the 16 you get with the 6800GT).. i have heard that the x800 XT performs better than the 6800 series... it also has 16 pipelines... but ull end up paying around the same area (if not more) for the x800 XT compared to the 6800 Ultra.. so it's much cheaper to get a 6800 GT and oc it... most bang for your buck
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by _SiLv3R_
the ultra is the only card that takes up 2 slots... and the problem with the plain 6800 is the lack of ddr3 ram
The ASUS gamer's edition (v9999, the one I have) has DDR3 @ 1Ghz.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 69
Default

Most likely the 6800GT
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ ( May Overclock to ) 3200+

MSI-KT6V Motherboard

512mb PC3200 RAM

GeForce 4 MX440 ( Uprgading to ) -- I dont know!

40GB Hard Drive
Flying_Vortex is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 03:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisky
Default

Yeah I have heard good things from the evga 6800 GT.
__________________
Future PC Specs:

DFI LP nForce 4 SLI-D
nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX
AMD 64 X2 3800
DDR 400 OCZ
WD Raptor 74 Gig
Thermaltake Black Tsunami Tower
Thermaltake Hardcano 12
Metalic Blue Ultra X 500w PSU
Plextor black DVD-R
Brisky is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 03:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Oh, the plain 6800 only needs one power hook up too.
The ultra is the only one that needs 2 power hookups. even the GT only needs 1
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.