best dual core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2007, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32
Default best dual core

when the price cuts hit july 9th i will be picking up a amd am2 dual core. i know that sometimes more expensive doesn't necessarily mean better so which one should i get? i was thinking of this one:

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail

this is about as expensive as i can go (assuming the 20% price drop)

i intend to use it for gaming especially the next gen mmos on the way out and might get into overclocking a bit.

any advice is appreciated.
__________________

suske is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: best dual core

if this is a new build, you might consider going with the c2d build
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: best dual core

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
if this is a new build, you might consider going with the c2d build

bah! i am a amd man. intel might have the edge right now but amd has the best bang for the buck and right now money is tight.
suske is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: best dual core

wth, c2d's are the best bang for the buck, time to get out of the cave
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: best dual core

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
wth, c2d's are the best bang for the buck, time to get out of the cave
ummmmm...yeah...
question: which c2d is 59.00?
answer: NONE.
the only ones even close are the allendales, and they're not c2d's (at least the 2140 and 2160, the cheapest ones). but they are still significantly more expensive than an x2 3600.
get out of the cave, peter, lol...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: best dual core

O.P. if you are going to get any AMD that you will overclock, get a brisbane.
the 3600 will hit 3ghz pretty easy and there is no better bang for your buck than that cpu. price cuts or not.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: best dual core

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
O.P. if you are going to get any AMD that you will overclock, get a brisbane.
the 3600 will hit 3ghz pretty easy and there is no better bang for your buck than that cpu. price cuts or not.
I concur.

HII NAGASAMA!!!
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: best dual core

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
O.P. if you are going to get any AMD that you will overclock, get a brisbane.
the 3600 will hit 3ghz pretty easy and there is no better bang for your buck than that cpu. price cuts or not.
this one? Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail

you can get this to hit 3.0 overclocked?! i assume you are using liquid cooling
right?
__________________

suske is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
single to dual core Nick New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-03-2007 10:45 AM
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Overclocking my AMD2 Dual Core socket 940 3800+ processor palikari1 Overclocking and Modding 2 05-29-2007 03:25 AM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.