best deal ever? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default best deal ever?

i recently walked into a shop and asked for the price for an amd athlon 64 fx- 55 and after a week he came back with the answer of $255. now i know this isnt right. he also told me it comes in a 3.0gh version and a 3.2gh version. can someone please help explain why the fastest current processor is only this much in australian dollars
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

whoa! i didnt even know that the atlon 64 fx-55 came in 3ghz. lol
You are getting a good deal there.
__________________

__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

It can't be explained, he is so full of bull crap its pathetic
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

what you mean?
__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

You can;t possibly sell a FX for that much, not even used, there must be one big *** catch in there And of course there is no such thing as a 3ghz and 3.2ghz AMD, you'd be hard pressed to even OC one that high
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The FX-55 is clocked at 2.6Ghz, they don't manufacture the same proccesor at different clock speeds. That alone is total bull****. The first 3.0Ghz planned proccesor is expected to be the FX-59, which won't be released for months at least.

Unless he's stolen it from somewhere, there is no way you could sell an FX-55 for that cheap unless you're planning on going straight down the drain financial.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

could he have gotten it confused with a pentium? how much is a pentium 4 3.0gh processor right now? and thanks for confirming it, i knew it was too good to be true.
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

fhew....i was gonna say...i paid 200 canadian for my anthlon64 2800...i thought prices were right comin' down now for the fx series...iw as right gettin' mad there...until i read some posts hahaha.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Agree, that's not right at all. He is losing ALOT of money selling it for $255.

Either:

A) He thinks your an idiot and will sell you a 3000+, claiming it's equivelant to an Intel 3.0GHz. He's making a buck and "kind" of telling the truth.

B) He is the idiot and has no idea that 3000+ doesn't mean 3GHz, and his hardware might be overpriced?

I'd say it's option #1
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.