best computer possible - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 10:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by devil_warrior
sp 2 200 gb drives is faster now? and how can it overkill gaming?
If you are using only 40GB of space...why would you but freaking 400GB???? That's like buying an entire ice-cream shop...instead of going to the store and buying an ice-cream. It's only overkill if you can;t use it....if you can fill it all up then by all means go ahead. But for the average gamer 2*40GB will be plenty..and then 1 more drive if you want for extra storage say DVD's or mp3's or soething.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 11:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd say the absolute best motherboard is the Tyan S4882UG2NR, it has:
4 x 940 pin sockets (yes that means you can put in 4 CPU's)
dual channel SCSI
16 DIMM's (4 for each CPU)
2x Gigabit ehternet ports
its downfall is that it doesn't have PCI-E or AGP (it's a server motherboard)
its price: $1409 US (cheapest I've seen)

and you can put in 4 Opteron 850's which are 8-way, meaning that each CPU looks like 8 CPU's to the PC so it processes 8 things at a time; now 4 of these means that there is 32 virtual processors in your PC!!!
each CPU costs $1469 US each (cheapest I've seen)

so the cost for the motherboard and 4 CPU's would be $7285

now I'll just be realistic, that's a ton of money for just your motherboard and CPU (or should I say CPU's), which doesn't even have AGP or PCI-E, so I would just stick with the FX-55, which you can get AGP and PCI-E boards for, along with the 2 6800 Ultra's in SLI

although I would get Kingmax PC4000 Hardcore instead of Corsair
the Kingmax PC4000 overclocks way better due to it running on lower voltage therefore running cooler, and it is also less expensive

I would get an Asetek Vapochill stand-alone cooler for your FX-55, which cools to about -15 to -30 degrees (yes that's negative) which will give you a lot of overclocking potential there

and if you want, watercooling for your 2 6800's

you can make a watercooling kit for around $250-$300 aus (or about $175-$200 US)
which would include a reservoir, pump, and the 2 GPU waterblocks (not 1 CPU and 1 GPU, since the CPU would be cooled by the Vapochill cooler (unless you don't want to get it))
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

apokalipse that would be one of the best computers ever but i think his talking more in the lines of a desktop computer not a server.

This setup would have to be the best computer for me.
VIDEO = 2 * XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR3
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acata...800_Series.html (@ Bottom)

CPU = AMD Athlon 64 FX55
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...d=79188&_LOC=UK

MOBO = DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-DR
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Socket_939.html

HDD #1 & #2 = 2 * Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...d=55454&_LOC=UK

HDD #3 = Western Digital Caviar Special Edition 250GB
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acata...gital_sata.html

OPTICAL = Plexator DVD+/- 16x
http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?...69-C615391841FE

PSU = OCZ PowerStream 600W
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/OCZ.html

CASE = CoolerMaster Stacker (Silver) (1/3rd of the way down)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acata..._Cases_126.html

CASE COOLING = Coolermaster Stacker 4in3 Device Module *1
Coolermaster Cross Flow Fan *1
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acata...sories_127.html

CoolerMaster Case Cooling Fan 80mm *2
http://www.savastore.com/productinf...70&pid=45&tid=3

RAM = OCZ Platinum EL Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB
http://www.ebuyer.co.uk/customer/pr...oduct_uid=66693

That is Moja's setup his going to buy and im getting the almost exact same one of him.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah I know he wants a desktop PC, that's why I said after
Quote:
now I'll just be realistic, that's a ton of money for just your motherboard and CPU (or should I say CPU's), which doesn't even have AGP or PCI-E, so I would just stick with the FX-55, which you can get AGP and PCI-E boards for, along with the 2 6800 Ultra's in SLI
personally I don't like the stacker; it's a well designed case, and has lots of airflow, but the friggin thing is WAY too heavy
I mean, if you got about 3 PC's, their total weight would be that of the CM stacker alone
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default Re: best computer possible

Quote:
Originally posted by devil_warrior
[B]ok hows this for a computer.

AMD Athlon 64 FX-55

2 Nvidia Geforce 6800 ultras linked in SLI x2 pci express versions (yes there are ultra pci versions)

PIONEER DVR-108 BEIGE 16X DUAL

Nvidia nforce 4 SLI lanparty nf4 sli-dr

2 200 GB hard drives 7200rpm 8mb cache (Raid 0)

Corsair TWINX1024-4000PRO

Blade Deluxe tower with power supply and fan

SOUNDBLASTER AUDIGY2 ZS PLATINUM PCI CARD

1.44MB floppy drives Panasonic

Windows XP Professional Operating System



a link to the blade case is here

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...69772&tc=photo
Pleasure man! Maby try the Antec P160 for a case. Get a OCZ Psu 520w or better. Get 2 x 74gb Raptors, 10 000rpm. And a 200gb pr bigger Seagate Sata for data. For ran try OCZ EL DDR PC3200 Platinum Edition rev2. That stuff can reach over 300Mhz!. Motherboard is excellent, well after al i recommended it! Dunno if you can get Pci Express 6800Ultra's but the GT's will do just as well

Hope all this helps.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:21 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jblaze725
corsair is excellent ram. expensive but a very strong performer and good for overclocking.
Yea Corsair is pretty good but you must get the right stuff.

These are the best Corsair for overclocking-Both can reach just under 300Mhz

Corsair XMS-PC3200XL Rev1.2/XLPT
Corsair XMS-PC3200XL Rev1.1

Yes this stuff beats the 4000 Stuff as well I' am sure of it.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MasterJason
These are the best Corsair for overclocking-Both can reach just under 300Mhz

Corsair XMS-PC3200XL Rev1.2/XLPT
Corsair XMS-PC3200XL Rev1.1
under 300? G.Skill kits have been able to hit 330MHz+, i'd go with that if you want to spend alot of money lol.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:31 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 4W4K3
under 300? G.Skill kits have been able to hit 330MHz+, i'd go with that if you want to spend alot of money lol.
4W4K3, Yes i know that!!! I was saying that Those were the best Corsair Ram avaliable, Check my post here.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=39313
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

This is all the currently avaliable RAM that can go over 300Mhz

+~300 Mhz:
G.SKILL PC4800(DDR600) (2.5-4-4-8), PC3200 (2-2-2-5) (F1-3200DSU2-512LA/1GBLA) ~ Brainpower PCB
^ "Puni's Choice" (best TCCD in in the market, agile and powerful, "300 Mhz" are past)

G.SKILL PC4400(DDR550) (2.5-3-3-7), PC3200 (2-2-2-5) 512M Kit (F1-3200DSU2-512LE/1GBLE) ~ Brainpower PCB
OCZ EL DDR PC3200 Platinum Edition rev2 (2-2-2-6) ~ Brainpower PCB
GeIL Ultra X PC3200\PC4000\PC4400 (2-2-2-5-1T) ~ Brainpower PCB (PC4400)
A-Data PC4800/PC4500 Vitesta - Modified JEDEC PCB
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:47 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MasterJason
4W4K3, Yes i know that!!! I was saying that Those were the best Corsair Ram avaliable, Check my post here.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=39313
ah ok, i didn't know if you were just stating it or you were trying to say they were the best available or what. thats a good list you put together.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.