best computer possible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default best computer possible

ok hows this for a computer.

AMD Athlon 64 FX-55

2 Nvidia Geforce 6800 ultras linked in SLI x2 pci express versions (yes there are ultra pci versions)

PIONEER DVR-108 BEIGE 16X DUAL

Nvidia nforce 4 SLI lanparty nf4 sli-dr

2 200 GB hard drives 7200rpm 8mb cache (Raid 0)

Corsair TWINX1024-4000PRO

Blade Deluxe tower with power supply and fan

SOUNDBLASTER AUDIGY2 ZS PLATINUM PCI CARD

1.44MB floppy drives Panasonic

Windows XP Professional Operating System



a link to the blade case is here

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...69772&tc=photo

any opinions or views is very much appreciated. and credit goes to masterjason for helping me with some information
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 08:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

I don't think that Corsair is very good personally. For the same price or under you can get better RAM (if you are considering overclocking)

More HDD space won't do anything for your PC unless you need it. It actually might slow you down trying to run 400GB of crap and only needing an 80GB drive. 7200RPM drives are pretty slow as well compared to more expensive 15K drives or better.

I'd go for an Audigy4...there available in Japan. See if you can find one...
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

i wouldnt say 7.2 k rpm are slow.... just not the fastest
Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

so its possible to get 15000 rpm? i thought 10,200 or something like that was the fastest? and thanks for the hard drive information but i heard that having two hard drives makes transfers more smoother then having one filled with stuff.
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

cordsair is excellent ram. expensive but a very strong performer and good for overclocking.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 08:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

but what about the hard drive question?
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

ok now change my recent drive with a 1 10,000rpm 200gb 8mb cache hard drive.

now then is that the best computer possible?
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 08:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jblaze725
cordsair is excellent ram. expensive but a very strong performer and good for overclocking.
For less money you can get better performance most of the time. Corsair doesn't perform the best in comparison 100% of the time...it's of course not the only choice. But get what you want, everyone has that right. Corsair usually performs well and is very stable...i jsut don't prefer it. I got my OCZ's cheaper than same rated Corsairs at the time...and they did very well (240MHz on stock voltage, haven't seen that yet on same rated Corsair kit. they usually take lots more voltage) My friends kit runs with tighter timings @240MHz (2-2-2-5) but it takes a whopping 3.2v to reach it, and the difference of CAS2.5-2 is only like 20 points in some benchmarks. Not tom mention he is topped...he cant get a better overclock unless he wants to fry his RAM...i'm still on 2.65v and have lots more room. If only my PSU was better lmao.

You can get 15K drives...there just ridiculously priced. And yes 2*HDD is usually faster with a RAID 0 setup. But 2*200GB might be overkill for a gaming rig. Try 2*60GB or something...unless you really do need 400GB of RAM.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

15,000 RPM drives are worthless right now in my opinion, while they may be fast, they are bloody expensive, way more than they are worth.

I like the idea of having one or two small yet fast access drives, and then a much larger but slower accessing drive. This seems like a very good cost effective approach to storage at the moment, especially during the migration from ATA to SATA.

My next major build, which should happen in March I think, will consist of two 36GB Raptor drives in a RAID 0, and one larger 300GB IDE drive. The mass storage IDE drives are great value right now in my opinion, and I don't need all my data accessed at 150mb/s or whatever.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

sp 2 200 gb drives is faster now? and how can it overkill gaming?
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.