Best Branded Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2004, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default Best Branded Ram

OCZ?
Corsair?
Kingmax?
others?

tell me what u guys think
__________________

Blake is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Default

depends mostly on the chips, not the ram brand
__________________

__________________
Find a Web Host
Brian911 is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

which performs better?
__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

I think that's an impossible question. Everyone recommends Corsair (XMS) and Mushkin though.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

I have OCZ. Love it. I just did an install with a GB of Corsair XMS for my bud, and there is really no difference performance wise.
__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to AMD 0wn4g3
Default

i like corsair xms myself but i have heard good things about OCZ, ocz supposidly makes the best (most efficient) psu also
__________________
my imaginary comp (soon 2 be real)
-AMD FX55/57(when it exists)
-A8N-SLI Deluxe (nF4)
-Dual 6800Ultra PCI-e

-2GB Corsair XMS 3-3-3-8
-WDR 10K 148GB RAID 0
-WD 320GB RAID1
-Creative Labs 1000Watt 8 speakers
-Customized DangerDen LCH20 kit with 630GPH pump, tri port CPU block, Chipset block, Dual 6800 blocks, dual reservoir for 2 5.25\" bays, 3 120mm fan external radiator, fan controller and 6 thermal sensory LED display

:::drooooools:::
AMD 0wn4g3 is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

hm... does OCZ stand for anything? like Overclocked Z lol..
__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I'd say Kingston or Corsair.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well I had thought kingston, then I read up on Corsair and turned out they produced better chips....then I read even more and OCZ apparently right now (this is mainly the high performance series, not regarding ValueRAM) but the best high performance series OCZ has out right now, the Platinum Series Rev 2. got WAY better performance than the highest performance series from Corsair, their lowest latency XMS series. Not only did it outperform Corsair in damn near every benchmark, it's also an incredible overclockable RAM stick compared to Corsairs, reaching of up to 285FSB for a PC3200 rated stick of OCZ Damn good in my opinion

Quote:
hm... does OCZ stand for anything? like Overclocked Z lol..
lol maybe, OverClockerZzzzzzz
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 08:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to AMD 0wn4g3
Default

acronym finder says OCZ = operational control zone lol fun stuff ;-)
__________________

__________________
my imaginary comp (soon 2 be real)
-AMD FX55/57(when it exists)
-A8N-SLI Deluxe (nF4)
-Dual 6800Ultra PCI-e

-2GB Corsair XMS 3-3-3-8
-WDR 10K 148GB RAID 0
-WD 320GB RAID1
-Creative Labs 1000Watt 8 speakers
-Customized DangerDen LCH20 kit with 630GPH pump, tri port CPU block, Chipset block, Dual 6800 blocks, dual reservoir for 2 5.25\" bays, 3 120mm fan external radiator, fan controller and 6 thermal sensory LED display

:::drooooools:::
AMD 0wn4g3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.