best amd athlon 64 3500+ oc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2007, 11:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya but everybody over there seems to. looking at there systems and cooling setups.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Default

you should somehow mess with the ddr ram. I don't know how so maybe somebody can help you with that.
__________________

AmdFanboy is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well, check your ram's voltage max. usually 2.8 is it for ddr. I have mine at 2.7, I think i might drop it to 2.6 and see how it fares.

and then try relaxing the timings or bring down the mhz. so it runs closer to ddr400.

If that doesnt wrok then you will need to put in a divider.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 07:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Default

what is a divider? do you buy it?
AmdFanboy is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AmdFanboy
what is a divider? do you buy it?
Yeah,Just go to your local comp shop and ask,They should be more than happy to sell you one
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

I got my 3500 running at 2.52 stable at around 53 under 100 percent load.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

I got my 3500 running at 2.52 stable at around 53C under 100 percent load.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dexaroni
I got my 3500 running at 2.52 stable at around 53C under 100 percent load.

Double-post

Athlon 3500's run pretty nicely. That must've been hard to get it up to 2.52Ghz. Was that using Water-Cooling?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 10:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Athlon 3500's run pretty nicely. That must've been hard to get it up to 2.52Ghz. Was that using Water-Cooling?

Venice's are one of the best oc'ing cpu's,They can usually reach 2.7 without upping the voltage so it dosen't take much to cool them,I've got my 3000+ running 2.6Ghz right now and all i'm using is a Freezer 64 pro and idle temp's are 32*c,That's a 800mhz jump without doing much of anything

(just have to change my sig now)
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 10:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
Yeah,Just go to your local comp shop and ask,They should be more than happy to sell you one
lol i've got an old one at home...i don't use it any more, so i will sell it for cheap. pennies on the dollar!!!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.