Benchmark programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2005, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default Benchmark programs

Okay, basic question: what exactly does a benchmark program do? How does it work? And, what's a good one? Thanks

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Depends on the benchmarking application. For example, 3Dmark takes your machine through a variety of game simulations and measures the FPS and uses that number to calculate a score.

Bandwidth and other such programs basically stress the connection so to speak and measure the bandwidth of it. Consider it like measuring the pressure of a hose.

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Its a way to compare your system performance to other system's performance. It can also be used to compare before/after system configurations, ie: before and after an OC.

It works by running a stress test on a computer and seeing how well it takes it.

For 3D/gaming performance, go to and get 3Dmark03 or 05.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261

So then, the Counterstrike Source "Stress test" would be kind of a benchmark type thing? It currently shows that I run at about 90 fps, if I OC the gpu, will I most likely run at even higher fps's?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

yes, there will be a difference, but not a noticeable difference

currently i get around 93fps on all high/reflect/4aa/16af on stress test (css) and i'm happy with that, so no need for OCing for me

I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611

You can't analyize more than 30-40 fps, anything above that is just for bragging rights (but those are worth a lot)
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

You can't analyize more than 30-40 fps,
oh but DJ-Chris can, he'll argue to the death about this.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 10:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538

DJ Chris is right, just doesnt articulate it the right way.While its true the human eye can only detect framerates as high as 20-30fps, games running at higher framerates are much more fluid feeling, you wont notice it most of the time, but like say for example, you are in a FPS game and you back up and turn quickly left or right,while doing this look out into the distance of the scene, at higher framerates the movement will be more fluid and natural looking.The effect is alot more pronounced at high resolutions.You notice it alot in flight sims when turning the plane quickly in most of the flight sims ive used, 60fps is alot more fluid feeling and looking than 35-40, and some games get downright syruppppy smooooooooth at 120fps or better.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 01:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

lol cs source runs so smooth. i play it 1280X960 (at 1280X1024 my screen can only do 60 but at 1280X960 it can do 70) 6XAA 16XAF 96 fps

this review i read said u needed a X800 to run it propperly im thinking WTF??

AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.