Bad 7900GT? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2006, 09:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Bad 7900GT?

when i play FEAR, i'll play for like 5 minutes and then it looks like there are straight lines coming out of random directions (almost like path lines for cyber-bullets, but it looks like a wall skin). there will be like 5 or 6 of these concrete colored lines going in various directions sround the room.

it also does this to the edges of barrels... it will stretch the very edge of the model clear across the room. same with the corners of some walls. it will look like the wall is stretched across a hallway but i can walk right through it.

i posted this in the games forum and someone told me that it was my card... can anyone confirm this?
it does this when my card is at stock settings and oc'd
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 09:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

There are alot of bad 7900gt's

I just RMA mine last week and expecting the newer versions to arive in the mail tommorrow.

I advise you to do the same.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

What company/model is this 7900gt?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default

check his sig, evga. Evga, is awesome w/ rma's, my old 7900gt had bad mem and I had a new one in a few days. Haven't had my gtx crap out yet so I wouldn't know about BFG rma's lol.
__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Which drivers are you using?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Oh stupid me someone wanna hit me with something? Yeah try different drivers like Omega's (www.omegadrivers.net) or if worse comes to worse rma it.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

i have a bfg tech and runnin fine, its lifetime warranty so i should be good, no need to send in something that works
wow i got my 7900gt for 275 and now its at 289, wierd
same specs, different pcb board
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

there was a bad batch of 7900's that i believe were shipped to every company (RAM i believe was the issue)

just RMA.

i had to w/ mine and now it's fixxed

it is more than likey not a driver issue.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 11:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

Usually the problem with the 7900GTs were the capacitors in the VRMs and Power Modules. But that may be a problem with heat, or overclock, dry downing the speeds a little, other than that RMA time!

Ruan

EDIT: Sorry just read that it does it at stock and OC, RMA time!
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

thanks guys, i'm gonna rma when i get a chance
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.