Back to overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2008, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Arrow Back to overclocking

So, with my watercooling kit installed, I am ready to go! Right now I am stable at 3.6ghz
FSB: 1600
Vcore: 1.3v
HT: 1.34
NB: 1.34
SB: auto
Mem: 2.21v 4-4-4-12 2 clocks
How do you figure out the fsb to ghz? Like so I know what my ghz will be when I set me FSB. Thanks. I want to hit 4ghz .
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Back to overclocking

Divide the FSB (like your's is 1333mhz divide that by 4.. 333mhz times your multiplier = native e8400 clock speed)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 09:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Back to overclocking

thanks vern. Im letting the loop bleed for the rest of the night, I wont start overclocking until all the bubbles and foam are gone. I did a quick OC, 3.6ghz is easily achievable, couldnt get 3.8ghz to start windows. So next step is to go for 3.8ghz. I think the max vcore recommended for an e8400 is 1.36v, but since im watercooling can I go safely a little past that?
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Back to overclocking

Ya depending on your cooling.. you can push the voltages by a little
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Back to overclocking

so I hit 3.8ghz with these settings (got an error in OCCTin 5min, but 3dmark06 ran fine)
FSB 1600
Vcore 1.356
HT 1.34
NB 1.34
SB auto
mem 2.21v 4-4-4-12 2clocks
Ill leave it like this, when am I ever going to use 100% of my cpu playing a game? not any time soon. I idle 40c, load 56c. Still seems high for water cooling >.>
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Back to overclocking

see if you can beat my 4.7ghz w/ my e8500

don't be scared to push 1.7v!!!! do it!!! hhahaa
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 05:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Back to overclocking

What settings should I try for 4ghz? I got an error after 5min with the settings above but vcore 1.35v. 3dmark ran fine though. what should I change for 4ghz? (what FSB would I need it to be>) ^ lol nos, i dont think I can beat that. what is your 1M time in super PI? like 5 seconds? lol. Im at 12s @ 3.8ghz.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 06:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Back to overclocking

9.9 sec... i hold the record here
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 06:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Back to overclocking

nice! i just read on another forum that an E8600 hit 6ghz and got like 7 seconds. Back to overlcocking ^^^
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Back to overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
9.9 sec... i hold the record here
shut up. lol.

Quote:
i just read on another forum that an E8600 hit 6ghz and got like 7 seconds. Back to overlcocking
we dont care about them lol.
and 1.45V is not unreasonable with water if the temps are OK. i think guru runs his with that much.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone help me understand how to back up my HD/operating system please? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-21-2008 12:35 AM
Overclocking Issue Spets Overclocking and Modding 10 02-20-2008 11:25 PM
OverClocking TFB Overclocking and Modding 6 11-10-2007 07:02 PM
I'M BACK in business, sort of..... Ethereal_Dragon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-09-2007 07:19 PM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.