AXLE Nvidia 6600GT PCI-E Ovrclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default AXLE Nvidia 6600GT PCI-E Ovrclocking

Hi guys, I'm new to this overclocking, and I'm new to this forum. Are there any spyware/virus free programs that provide good overclocking for my 6600GT? And I heard if the card overheats, the computer shuts down? What temperature is that? and by clocking, what's the limit and what's the max? How many frames per second will the overclocking boost?

Help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot
-Hpr
__________________

hpratvfrk is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Rivatuner
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 12:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Or you can do a registry mod and download coolbits
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
Rivatuner
Link? Anyways, noone answered most of my questions.

What's the minimum temperature? Maximum?
hpratvfrk is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Idle should be around 30-50c max should be nothing higher 60-90c, it'll shutdown aroudn 120c.

http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hpratvfrk
Link? Anyways, noone answered most of my questions.

What's the minimum temperature? Maximum?
www.google.com

temp varies, check out the manual.....
cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 05:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Okay, I d/l'ed RivaTuner. How do you use it? Anyone have a 6600GT PCI-E? What's the most "stable" Mhz?
hpratvfrk is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

im running 579/1303 but thats pritty high on the mem for a stock cooled 6600GT with no volt mods.

basically u just raise it slowly then run 3dmark05 3 times in a loop and check the temps. if it don;t crash or get real hot u speed it up some more :P

every card if differant so the fact that im running mine at that speed means nothing for urs really its somthing to compare it with but not somthing to go by

for instance some 6600GT max at like 527/1080 on stock cooling and some like do 590/1320 on stock cooling
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sh0r_ty
im running 579/1303 but thats pritty high on the mem for a stock cooled 6600GT with no volt mods.

basically u just raise it slowly then run 3dmark05 3 times in a loop and check the temps. if it don;t crash or get real hot u speed it up some more :P

every card if differant so the fact that im running mine at that speed means nothing for urs really its somthing to compare it with but not somthing to go by

for instance some 6600GT max at like 527/1080 on stock cooling and some like do 590/1320 on stock cooling
Okay, but I've tried overclocking with the clock frequencies, but it always has this eeror message:

The driver failed to pass internal test with the clock frequencies you are about to set. Please decrease your clock frequencies and try again. (That is when I try to overclock from 300 MHz to 330 MHz)

And when I startup RivaTuner:

Warning! RivaTuner has not been tested with the currently installed display driver.
It is strongly recommended to upgrade RivaTuner to a new version, otherwise it may not work properly because the driver is not officially supported.
hpratvfrk is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Someone, please help. I want better performance from my 6600gt
__________________

hpratvfrk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.