Average temp for AMD 64 3200 processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2004, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default Average temp for AMD 64 3200 processor

Build a new computer with the AMD 64 3200+ processor using the Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro. What are the average temps you guys are getting with your processors?

I'm getting a 53C in the bios PC Health. Seems kinda high. But its working.
__________________

Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I get 39C idle and up to 50C when playing a CPU intensive game such at UT2004. How many fans do you have?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

Is that a CPU temp or system temp?

I'm only using two 120mm fans. One in the front and one in the rear. The PSU has two fans though. One below the PSU sucking up the air and pushing it out the back.

The front fan of course is pushing air in and the rear 120 is pushing it out. However, I haven't even done anything yet. I just finished installing drivers and stuff. Havne't played any games.

So 53c for this processor is high?
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

CPU temp. Yes, 53C is high for being idle. I would consider using a better heatsink or using more fans in your case.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 02:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

Thanks for the info, but I have found some more info at the AMD forum that others are having high temps with this system board. Possibly a problem with the bios.

I applied the thermal paste twice already, so I'm sure its not the problem. The HSF unit is suppose to be pretty good. It has lots of good reviews.

I haven't even closed my case yet. I'm still doing some wiring and other stuff. So air flow isn't an issue.
Aggdaddy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.