ATX to BTX? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2006, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default ATX to BTX?

hi. i have thermaltake kandalf case and i want to upgrade to BTX from standerd ATX. because it looks like more efficient air flow that way. but how does it work? have any1 done this? looks like its just the mobo placed upside down from ATX. but if its upside down, all the PCI and I/O part is gonna be facing the front of the case??? im very confused. theres no BTX mobo or anything right? or am i way off on this?? help pls.... o btw, theres a new window upgrade for thermaltake kandalf/armor owner. they now have side window panel w/25cm fan built in. im going to get it as soon as it becomes available in retail stores. check it out at the thermaltake website.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Assuming your case is actually BTX compliant all you do is follow the manual and pull the tray off and mount it on the right panel of the case rather than left so your I/O ports are positioned the right way
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You need a BTX motherboard. I've only seen a few for small Media center PCs. I think GigaByte makes one.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Assuming your case is actually BTX compliant all you do is follow the manual and pull the tray off and mount it on the right panel of the case rather than left so your I/O ports are positioned the right way
yes. i just have to buy the BTX upgrade kit for $30 or so. but like u said, putting the trey to the other side is gonna be problem...dont u think? cuz my case only has the opening on the window side. so if im putting the trey to the window side, all i see is gonna be the back of mobo/trey....means i lose all the accesability inside the comp. i have to take mobo out from case to do anything inside... o wait a min...how can i even screw the mobo to the case? cuz all im gonna see is gonna be back of my mobo...im sooooo confused. i cant see how this is gonna be possible. if my case had openning on each side itll be no problem but...it only has openning on one side... and btw, it doesnt have pull out trey or anything. its fixed to the one side. though, thermaltake sells BTX upgrade kit for this particuler model. and theres something wrong w/ their site/customer support page. i cant even ask them this question...
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
You need a BTX motherboard. I've only seen a few for small Media center PCs. I think GigaByte makes one.
o okie...thats what i thought...but i have never seen BTX mobo so i didnt know...but anyway, why BTX isnt the standerd? its way better for the air flow and better for cooling GPU that way than ATX. my mac G5 is mouted as BTX as standerd. cuz GPU and PCI slots are gonna be at the top, so its more air blows into GPU and heats gonna spread quicker, too.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i am BTX (dell). but it is sudo BTX. the cards are still at the bottom of the case, but the other way around, so i can see the top of my gfx card, not just a few screws and memory chips.

doesnt the kandalf have a tray that fits on the other side? and then you put a window'ed panel on the other side of the case.
joshd is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 03:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

my case is very similar to btx as well... as for cooling, i wouldnt know the difference.... i've only used this comp with actual temp reads... having the mobo upside down seemed a bit awkward to me at first... but my temps are pretty low for my cpu.. or so i hope, i usally idol around 34, stressed out was about 41 from what i last remember, thats when i had this opty at 2.8 ghz, i've backed it down to 2.6, why.. i don't know? and for my grpahics card, it idols at 42, weather thats good or not.. i don't know.... hopefully this case is doing me some good

everything seems to be like all the btx hub-ub... pci slots up top, cpu on bottom, mobo on the opposite side of the case... it said it was btx inspired.. so that could be the reason..haha
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Here it is:

http://www.gigabyte-usa.com/DeskTop/...ucts_CB91.htm#

And you need one of these coolers:
http://thermaltake.com/product/Coole...775_index.html
turtile is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
Here it is:

http://www.gigabyte-usa.com/DeskTop/...ucts_CB91.htm#

And you need one of these coolers:
http://thermaltake.com/product/Coole...775_index.html
? no no. i dont want to buy a case. i already have 1. and it can be used as BTX if i get the BTX kit. but i dont really see it works as BTX. cuz then i have to buy opposite side window panel also. since whole thing (the mobo trey. but i don see it coming off....) is gonna be turned around.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 11:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Its a barebone. I was just pointed out one that I saw. You can see that it pulls heat like a tunnel threw that heatsink/fan. It cools every component in a small space with 1 fan.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.