AtiTool Discovery! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 02:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default AtiTool Discovery!

okay.. i just found out about atitool.. and its amazing.... and i never knew you could change the voltage for an ati card from there... no idea that it wasnt locked!! so no need to volt mod.. which is awesome.. okay, this card already runs really dang hot...

there's a couple thigns i wanted to do with that being considered

1. i'm getting some as5 from my friend, so imma apply some of that to this card

2. thinking about getting the thermaltake tidewater... ya, its a piece of crap.. i know, but ist only 50 dollars

umm... i'm not liking number 2... hopefully i don't have to resort to that... anyway, i guess what i really want to ask is if there are any nice watercooling systems just for the gpu.. i want to take this x1900xt extremely far.. i mean x1950xtx far... which is pretty **** far.. so what would i be looking at for that... that is 2000mhz memory... which is really high.. so any help?

oh.. and keep in mind that i will go crossfire
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Yeah, don't go crazy with voltages.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well.. i figured that.. thats why i want watercooling..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 06:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Still, don't go crazy with voltages. Most GPU's are very sensitive to voltage adjustments.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

especially given the x1900xt is down to 90nm right? which you would expect to have a lower voltage range than 90nm CPUs because of the fact they have more transistors than a single core cpu.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I dont understand really voltmodding. I mean lets say, in my case, I have a x800gto with a crappy r430 core not made for oc'ing. Can just increasing the voltage give me that much higher oc's?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: AtiTool Discovery!

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
okay.. i just found out about atitool..
Someone's new to OCing... It's cool though. I browse XtremeSystems, and they've used ATITool since it's beta release.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I've been using atitool since my 9800pro, to my 7900GT .

Anyways you could just buy water cooling without a cpu block :freak: lol

Tidewater sucks, I would rather get no cooling then waste 50 bucks on that
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 02:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Re: AtiTool Discovery!

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
Someone's new to OCing... It's cool though. I browse XtremeSystems, and they've used ATITool since it's beta release.
its not that i'm new .... just i've always overlooked ati tool and thought it was crap...

anywho.. ya, i've already thought about what you'be said pzero, just getting a gpu block and no cpu block.... if anyone would be so kind as to posting links so parts i may get... i won't settle for any premade ones like from thermaltake.. those suck balls! dunno why i even considered the tidewater...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 02:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
I dont understand really voltmodding. I mean lets say, in my case, I have a x800gto with a crappy r430 core not made for oc'ing. Can just increasing the voltage give me that much higher oc's?
and yes... raising your voltage gives it added stability.. makes it able to go higher...

take cpu overclocking as an example, your raise the voltage to keep it stable at higher speeds..

same goes for the gpu, which is why people voltmod their 7900 gt.. it allows them to oc to extreme speeds
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.