ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2007, 04:12 AM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

whoa...Don't go to 1.6v when you have a stock cooler. You could overheat or possibly damage the CPU, if you tried to stress that.

hmmm..You had to go that high for 3.1GHz? That shouldn't be. You should be able to get there, with like 1.3-1.45v. What are all your voltage settings? Or what have you changed?

Keep the CAS 4 timings with your RAM.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:20 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
whoa...Don't go to 1.6v when you have a stock cooler. You could overheat or possibly damage the CPU, if you tried to stress that.

hmmm..You had to go that high for 3.1GHz? That shouldn't be. You should be able to get there, with like 1.3-1.45v. What are all your voltage settings? Or what have you changed?

Keep the CAS 4 timings with your RAM.
Right now I'm at 450mhz x7 or 3.15mhz, at 1.35v but in order to get that i had to turn my memory to auto, instead of the 4-4-4-12. it switched it to 5-7-7-25.

I know thats not good at all.

edit: I'm not stable at all tho, i keep getting error message popping up right now saying this program has encountered a problem, and needs to be shut down. For ex: my wireless netgear adapter, Firefox, etc...
__________________

__________________
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/f...g?t=1189246651
Core 2 Duo E6550 is OC @ 450mhz x7 1800 rated FSB
Memory timings @ 4-4-4-12 450mhz x2 1:1
GeForce 8600GT OC @ 680mhz 850mhz
CPonder14 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:24 AM   #23 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

I thought you said, you tried 3.15GHz with 1.6v, and it wouldn't boot.

So if your memory is set to manual CAS4, you can't boot up?

Can you tell me all the settings in the MIT? That you currently have or your last stable?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:31 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I thought you said, you tried 3.15GHz with 1.6v, and it wouldn't boot.

So if your memory is set to manual CAS4, you can't boot up?

Can you tell me all the settings in the MIT? That you currently have or your last stable?
Yes it wouldn't boot at 3.15ghz with 1.6v but that was with the 4-4-4-12 memory timings. I later got it to boot at 3.15ghz, but i had to turn the memory to auto, instead of manual.

I just turned my settings back to where i was stable before @ 400 x7 2.80ghz, and 4-4-4-12 memory timings, with 1.31v because i got too many errors popping up.

Right now my settings are

CPU Clock Ratio= 7x
Host Clock= Enabled
Mhz= 400
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)= Auto
System Memory Multiplier(SPD)= 2
HS DRAM DLL Settings= Option 1
memory timings 4-4-4-12
DDR2 Overvoltage= +.1v
CPU Voltage control= 1.31
__________________
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/f...g?t=1189246651
Core 2 Duo E6550 is OC @ 450mhz x7 1800 rated FSB
Memory timings @ 4-4-4-12 450mhz x2 1:1
GeForce 8600GT OC @ 680mhz 850mhz
CPonder14 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:35 AM   #25 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

Oh...now I see. Your RAM probably needs more voltage. With the setting at +0.1v, it's set to 1.9v, because the standard is 1.8v....I set mine to +0.4v, because that sets the Ballistix to it's stock voltage of 2.2v....1.8 + 0.4 = 2.2v

So try that, and it should boot no problem. Since you have a 1:1 ratio going on, at 1.9v....the RAM didn't have enough power to go past 400MHz.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:43 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Oh...now I see. Your RAM probably needs more voltage. With the setting at +0.1v, it's set to 1.9v, because the standard is 1.8v....I set mine to +0.4v, because that sets the Ballistix to it's stock voltage of 2.2v....1.8 + 0.4 = 2.2v

So try that, and it should boot no problem. Since you have a 1:1 ratio going on, at 1.9v....the RAM didn't have enough power to go past 400MHz.
You are correct, it booted up.
Thanks for the help

the settings are
3.15ghz , 1.31v
4-4-4-12 , 2.2v

edit: oddly enough my core temps went down, it's now around 24-25*
__________________
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/f...g?t=1189246651
Core 2 Duo E6550 is OC @ 450mhz x7 1800 rated FSB
Memory timings @ 4-4-4-12 450mhz x2 1:1
GeForce 8600GT OC @ 680mhz 850mhz
CPonder14 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:47 AM   #27 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

No problem. So when will you get the AF7 Pro? If your temps are 24-25C idle, with the AF7 Pro, it will be much lower.

So the only voltage controls that you've touched, are RAM and Vcore?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:49 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
No problem. So when will you get the AF7 Pro? If your temps are 24-25C idle, with the AF7 Pro, it will be much lower.

So the only voltage controls that you've touched, are RAM and Vcore?
yes, those are the only two. The others are set on auto right now.

edit: Hopefully this coming week.
__________________
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/f...g?t=1189246651
Core 2 Duo E6550 is OC @ 450mhz x7 1800 rated FSB
Memory timings @ 4-4-4-12 450mhz x2 1:1
GeForce 8600GT OC @ 680mhz 850mhz
CPonder14 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 01:37 PM   #29 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPonder14 View Post
after i overclocked my cpu to 2800mhz my score on 3dMark06 is 2515 Marks.
before i overclocked it, it was 2106 Marks
word. makes me feel even better....
my 3600 scores 2151 at 2.9ghz.
not too shabby.
good luck with your overclock!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 02:16 PM   #30 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

who introduced overclocking anyways?
I mean who came out with the idea that we should oc our cpus and gfx cards,etc etc and not u se stock...

What a genius he/she might be.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about OCing a Video Card mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-11-2007 02:29 AM
DirectX and Graphic Card Question MonkeyBusiness New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-10-2007 05:49 AM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
Question about my video card.. Howlz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-28-2007 05:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.