Is the ATI Radeon 7200 32MB DDR Overclockable??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2003, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
MtX
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Default Is the ATI Radeon 7200 32MB DDR Overclockable???

Hello,

I currently have an ATI Radeon 7200 32MB DDR as my video card.. It's quite old, I bought it for $300 Canadian in it's first weeks of release (I know, I'm stupid, what a waste of money...). I've used it for around 2 years now, and it's not quite up to par with newer games (WarCraft III, UT2k3, Mafia, RTCW). In fact, it's not even as fast as it should be with Half-Life Counter-Strike (I get an average of 30-40 FPS with D3D). I want to overclock my video card to have at least an average of 40-50 FPS constantly. Wish I had the money to go buy a new video card, but I don't.

Does anyone know a costless, SAFE, and efficient way of overclocking this old card? I don't want to spend money buying multiple fans (my basement is cold enough), and I don't want to explode my motherboard either.

Thanks.

[My System Specs]

AMD Duron 600
Asus A7V133
ATI Radeon 7200 32MB DDR
450 MB SD RAM
30GB Quantum HD 7200RPM
ESS Solo 1938 Sound Card
__________________

MtX is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default

It should be as far as I know. Before you overclock though, make sure you have the latest catalyst drivers, and make sure your DirectX is the latest version supported by your card. You should see a performance increase just with that. Understand that overclocking a card like that wont get you tremendous FPS improvements. To overclock it, look for an app called "Powerstrip" I believe. Good OC tool for Radeons.
__________________

ikellen is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 01:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
MtX
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Default

Yea I tried DirectX9 with the newest Catalyst drivers which claim to boost performance by a lot because of DirectX9.. However, my frame rates in Counter-Strike drop 5-10.. I had to revert back to previous drivers and DirectX8.1
MtX is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

http://www.rage3d.com/radeon/cooling/

^ good article right there on overclocking and cooling the Radeon 32MB DDR
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
MtX
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Default

Damn...... That looks risky and complicated..... Is it worth risking this old video card which I spend $300 Canadian on?
MtX is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to Disciple
Default

Not that hard, if u just take ur time and read it properly... But if u don't want to screw it up... Maybe u could just buy a new one for $300... U could get a 9700 pro... just a thought
__________________
\"Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroy and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.\"
-Matthew 6:19-21
http://www.angelfire.com/al3/dennis/images/jesus9.gif
<html>
<url>http://www.hhbc.com</url>
<url>http://www.wwjd.com</url>
<url>http://www.tigerdirect.com</url>
<url>http://www.pricewatch.com</url>
</html>
Disciple is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

7200 didnt know that existed
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 11:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Default heh

i actually used a 7200 for years and recently got a 9500 pro
Cile is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

It has been around since the release of the 7500 and 8500, in an effort fill in the lower-end of the market spectrum, and also to sell off the remaining stockpiles of R100 chips.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.