ATI R600 Chipset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2006, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default ATI R600 Chipset

This is looking nice! Not 100% sure about how the independent FSB/RAM overclocking will work, but sounds like it could be pretty cool.

The DFI LP with the R600 is going to be a sexy Conroe board

http://www.hkepc.com/bbs/itnews.php?tid=608109
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

auto pci-e oc?

hmmmm
__________________

__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

asus's board

http://images.dailytech.com/nimage/1..._p5bdeluxe.jpg
__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

yes I'm also a tad confused about that considering pci-e works natively at 100MHz and anything over that would previously fry whatever you tried running in that interface...what they seem to be implying is that there is some sort of tweak with r5** cores that might allow them to get more out of the unified pipelines, specifically the r580 in this case, from running at a higher pci-e bandwidth

This concept just doesn't seem to make sense considering even two x1900xt cards in crossfire I don't think would use anywhere near the bandwidth of pci-e 8x...although MAYBE this has something to do with increasing the execution time and trying to decrease the latency of core to core communication because they are still using the off-die memory controller and FSB

I'm just talking crap though, I have no idea...would be interested to see who decides to manufacture boards with this chipset and how it compares with nf4 or an nf5 possibly?!
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
would be interested to see who decides to manufacture boards with this chipset and how it compares with nf4 or an nf5 possibly?!
DFI has confirmed a board with this chipset. They are making an nforce board as well, but I am not sure what the actual chipset will be on that one. Those will be their two Intel LP boards. Their 975x board will be an Infinity.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

ehhh there might be a new board champ this time around I think considering it always seems to shift generation after generation...not to say DFI won't have a good board and that it wouldn't be nice considering DFI support is amazing...but I seem to be remembering that MSI was heavily focusing on an enthusiast oriented board, find you I read about that almost a year ago

Only time shall tell I suppose
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

!!!
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.