Ati and Nvidia - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2005, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default Ati and Nvidia

Ok I am stuck on a decision.
I play Americas Army. Which is a direct x game, I believe. I believe that ATI is directx, and nvidia is openGL. I only have PCI slots, so which would be better or does it not make that much difference? Should I get ati 9250 pci, or the geforce 5700? I know the 5700 is alot better overall, but for the game I want to use it for...you get what I am saying. Any help would be apprectiated.
__________________

WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Almost any 128MB card will do, because AA isn't that demanding. I would go with Nvidia if you have a PCI slot.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

alright. Yeah I have a 9250 right now, but it kinda sucks. I can only play all ultra low, 1024x768 no shaddows or AA or AF.
So you think the 5700 would be good?
WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 11:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Any card under $100 won't be able to play any game on high settings. I wouldn't worry about it; I have a 9250, it's fine, didn't expect much of it though.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 11:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Go ahead and keep the 9250. I put a 5700 in my parents' PC and it isn't wouldn't be worth the upgrade. If you really want a card to game with, get the 6600 GT which is getting cheaper and cheaper every week.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 11:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

that's dumb, both ati and nvidia support directx and openGL
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

Ok, thanks, Well I kinda screwed up the 9250 anyway. Idk what I did, but I only get about 12 fps on a game menu, with alot of text but, its still crap.
WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Dude, my 8500 can do more then your card. Something is wrong check your drivers.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

Yeah, I have many times, I think I have un-intentionaly overclock and semi-fried the card.
WelshKorn is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you "semi fried" the card, you wil see more than just a drop in fps

anyway, I would actually suggest getting an AGP card instead. a Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB is, for the money, a really good card
if you don't have AGP, you can actually get pretty cheap (but descent) Socket A or socket 478 motherboards

what is your CPU?
if it is a socket A (AMD) CPU, I would suggest getting an Avit KV7 ($44) motherboard
if you have a Pentium 4, I would suggest a Gigabyte 8S661FXMP-RZ ($53)
and with either, get a Radeon 9600 Pro ($69)
total = $113/$122
and you will have a much better video card than that 9250
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.