ati 9800 pro temps? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 03:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Default

any way to figure out if you have the R360 core or not besides taking the cooler off? Can i just install Ati Tool and if it shows a temp reading then i have the R360 core? Sorry, never tweaked any of my video cards....
__________________

doodle dee is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 04:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

ati tool will tell you what core you have...mine said R350 but when i replaced the heatsink and looked at the core, it was actually an R360. it said R350 cuz it was using a 9800 pro bios.

look at your card and see if you have an LM63 chip like the ones on the pics below

http://membres.lycos.fr/tontonrouleur/lm63.jpg
http://www.xbitlabs.com/images/news/...6xt_od_600.jpg
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Or just take off the heatsink, clean it off, place soem AS5 and a new heatsink then you will see which core you have
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

If i use ATITool to overclock my 9800pro, and only raise the clock speed/memory speed, and not change the voltage at all, would i need to worry too much about extra heat on stock cooling, since i wont be able to monitor the temp.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

You might want to just make sure it isnt burning hot and your card will combust on you because that fan is small its like 20mm. So i would defintely save some money and buy a VF-700CU from zalman for 30 bucks
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.