ati 9800 pro 256 meg(clocks 380 by 680) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2005, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to JeffGoneWild
Default ati 9800 pro 256 meg(clocks 380 by 680)

hey guys, whats up? im running a 9800 pro 256 meg ati sapheire limited. (http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_g...e+9800+pro+256
and i oced it with my zalman VF700-Cu to 480 by 780. am i getting the bang for my buck or should i push my comp harder? i have replaced all my fans in my comp and am running a pci fan underneath my gpu. i have socket t with complete thermal tec and my comp rarely breaks 30 degress celcius with like 32 in the entire system. i use ite to monitor but my v card doesn't have a temp gauge built in. any suggestions would be great thanks.
jeff
__________________

JeffGoneWild is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

380/680?...
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 05:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

480/390 you mean pzerofgh.

how recently did you buy the videocard? anyone will tell you the 6600GT is faster, and better value as well. Thats a nice clock, well done any chance of a 3dmark01 benchmark?

what is it stock? 360/340 or similar isn't it?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to JeffGoneWild
Default

the regular marks for my 9800 pro 256 meg is 380 core by 680 on memory. im running it at 480 clock by 780 on memory. and idk where to get the free 3d benchmark otherwise i would be happy to
JeffGoneWild is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 01:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I would hold on to the card and leave it the way it is. 1 thing I would do is flash the cards bios and make it a 9800XT. However if your looking to upgrade your video card I would wait until next year. Windows Vista is coming out as well as Direct X 10 video cards. Alot is going to change over the corse of this year. If you cant wait and you want to upgrade now, a 6600GT AGP card can still be found on newegg. You will see a performance increase with it. Go with brands like evga, gigabyte, or MSI. Anything else just is not worth it IMO.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to JeffGoneWild
Default

how do you flash the bios to make the card a 9800 xt? any help would be very helpful thanks jeff.
JeffGoneWild is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

make sure you have an 360 core. the core the 9800pro is supposed to have is a 350, but i was lucky enough to get a 360 core, and i flashed my bios. so check on the core, if it is, ill help you flash the bios. sense i went through this
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 06:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=99

select a mirror and off you go when you run it after you have done the install, just click benchmark, don't change any options
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 01:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to JeffGoneWild
Default

14647 3dmark is my score. is this good?
system specs
p4 3.0 ghz processor
gig of ram
9800 pro 256 meg sapheire (zalman VF700-Cu)
jetway mobo =( (pretty good performance pt88bs) but i know there is a lot of better stuff out there.
and on top of my processor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106048
let me know about my scores on my benchmark.
JeffGoneWild is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 04:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

download 3dmark03 cause i want to compare my score to yours.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.