Athlon xp 2800+ Oc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2006, 03:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Athlon xp 2800+ Oc

Well, i think id like to oc my athlon xp a little, since i heard that this is a great chip for ocing. here a screenshot of cpu-z. Anyone have any idea how high i could go? The pc specs are in my sig.

__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 04:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Just go slowly until you can't go any further, or you're satisfied.

I have no idea how that chip will OC, but I'm guessing you could get to 2.5 or so, maybe more maybe less, just a guess.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

You'll probably be able to hit about 2.5 I think. I had an athlon 1800+ running at 2.0 if that tells you anything.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

I have this exact chip im my old computer. - It overclocks well if you can keep it cool.... but thats the problem, cause from my experience they run quite hot, 2.3 was all i could get from it on aftermarket air. Not the best result in the world by any stretch.
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 11:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

You will want to watch out for your PSU or motherboard, as those chips are supposed to run at 1.500v, that is running at 1.472, which means its got a dodgy supply. You should be able to get 2.5 out of it if you can keep it cool, if you can keep it cool enough, it will go pretty far!

Ruan
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

generally its your ram that caps your overclocking... what kind of ram u got? ddr 133, ddr 400? that'll usually give u an idea of how high u can go.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 02:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Well as for the voltage, its the mobile version, which runs at a lower voltage than the desktop version. And ive got ddr 400, the 512 is buffalo and the 256 is hynix. Yeah the power supply is the basic one that came with my case, but its been running almost everday since january of this year.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.