athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2008, 10:53 AM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

Well personally I'd go for a new board, with at least 5 chokes on it.
790GX + SB750 boards can be had for a good price (SB750 helps when overclocking Phenom CPU's)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 10:57 AM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

whats a choke?,

and i'll start looking at 790FX boards in a week or two
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 11:15 AM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.


the chokes are shown in red squares

They're basically passive components that resist sudden changes in current flow, to make the power flow smoother.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 11:26 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

right,

Well its safe to say that this is an excellent motherboard for the money, no doubt about that.

It does what its designed to do, and it does it well.

However- seeing as how im an overclock minded consumer, i believe it may have been a poor purchase.

I am looking at the Biostar 790gx board for 99$ on newegg.

But honestly i may end up getting the XFX 790gx board from tigerdirect for 30~$ more, because it looks like a nicer board.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 11:46 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
right,

Well its safe to say that this is an excellent motherboard for the money, no doubt about that.

It does what its designed to do, and it does it well.

However- seeing as how im an overclock minded consumer, i believe it may have been a poor purchase.

I am looking at the Biostar 790gx board for 99$ on newegg.

But honestly i may end up getting the XFX 790gx board from tigerdirect for 30~$ more, because it looks like a nicer board.
XFX 790GX?
I didn't think XFX would make anything using AMD/ATI chips
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 07:17 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

apparently they did=) and it looks pretty


*EDIT*

no i think this is a GF 8300 board... either way it looks nice
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 07:56 PM   #37 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

Go with 14 Multi and see if you are able to push 238 to about 250. If you can get that stable, then you should be able to beat Apoks Super PI

Whats the difference between the 790GX & 790FX price/performance wise?

Crap I double posted.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:50 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

This thread was originally intended for me to figure out the memory dividers for the Athlon x2 memory controller.

I didnt mean to turn it in to my personal benchmarking thread, and since its already out of hand i'll finish it up by posting a chart that explains the memory dividers and resulting memory speeds @ ddr2 800.

When your using DDR2 533, and DDR2 667 settings, your divider will be higher (DDR2 667 x14multi = /9 divider for example).


So here are the results.

Athlon x2 Divider chart @ ddr2 800

Multi -- FSB -- Core -- Div --Mem
10 --- 200 -- 2000 -- /5 -- 400
10.5 -- 200 -- 2100 -- /6 -- 350
11 --- 200 -- 2200 -- /6 -- 366.66~
11.5 -- 200 -- 2300 -- /6 -- 383.33~
12* -- 200 -- 2400 -- /6 -- 400
12.5 -- 200 -- 2500 -- /7 -- 357.14~
13 --- 200 -- 2600 -- /7 -- 371.42~
13.5 -- 200 -- 2700 -- /7 -- 384.71~
14* -- 200 -- 2800 -- /7 -- 400
14.5 -- 200 -- 2900 -- /8 -- 362.5
15 --- 200 -- 3000 -- /8 -- 375
15.5 -- 200 -- 3100 -- /8 -- 387.5
16* -- 200 -- 3200 -- /8 -- 400
16.5 -- 200 -- 3300 -- /9 -- 366.66~
17 --- 200 -- 3400 -- /9 -- 377.77~
17.5 -- 200 -- 3500 -- /9 -- 388.88~
18 --- 200 -- 3600 -- /9 -- 400

* = best default for FSB overclocking

The memory divider rounds up any time the multi/2 = a non whole number.

I will post my personal best overclock somtime next week, and im going to also update my original post with this chart so that maybe someone will get some benefit out of clicking on my thread.

Thanks for the help guys, apparently it was under my nose the whole time.=)

Hope it helps!
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 11:53 PM   #39 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

nice chart rich.
yep, it was under your nose but i knew with a little research using your you would figure it out. it can be pretty confusing at first.
make a thread with just the chart and title it
"Athlon x2 Divider chart @ ddr2 800"
like above and i will see if we can get it stickied. it is very helpful for people just starting out with AMD OCing. i had one when i had AMD chips and it was pretty useful.
i'll try and locate it so we can add ddr2 533 and ddr2 667 speeds to it as well, although they are not as common now as 800.
BTW, i got really good results with a 10x multi, but i had an EVGA 590sli that was a monster overclocker and a great mobo.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Home Edition Troubles ChemicalMonkey Microsoft Windows and Software 34 01-20-2008 09:26 PM
Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition Highest Overclock andrewsvalesen Overclocking and Modding 21 11-24-2007 02:00 AM
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.