athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2008, 03:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Lightbulb athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

my athlon x2 5400+ has a stock multiplier of 14x

if i run my ram at 800mhz (which i do....) at 14x and 2800mhz, the divider is 7

so that means 2800/7=400, it makes sense

i decided to do some tests, and i came up with this

all tests were with the memory set to 800mhz DDR in bios @ stock FSB of 200mhz
2800mhz core, 14x multiplier = cpu/7 (400mhz ram,)
3000mhz core, 15x multiplier = cpu/8 (375mhz ram,)
3100mhz core, 15.5x multiplier = cpu/8 (387.5mhz ram)
3200mhz core, 16x multiplier = cpu/8 (400mhz ram)
3300mhz core, 16.5x multiplier = cpu/8 (412.5mhz ram)
3400mhz core, 17x multiplier = cpu/9 (377mhz ram)


As you can see, the divider increases with the multiplier=)

so to test my ram, i set it at 220mhz FSB, x 14 multiplier (440mhz ram@ 2.0v) 3080mhz
core
-- the memory is only rated for 1.9v, so im not sure if i can get 2.1 safely or not --

and it worked=D 100% stable. unfortunately the core speed is only 3080mhz...

So it seems, 16x, and 14x multipliers are going to be my ticket for best ram / cpu frequencies
(and the drop in core frequency was NOT countered by the ram frequency,
at 3080 / 440ram my Superpi time is 30.592s.. almost 3 seconds SLOWER than my best!)


I am going to increase the FSB to 225, test the ram, and increase it 1mhz at a time after that.

Hopefully i can get the core clock back up to 3300mhz (470mhz ram) @ 235 FSB.

=P either way, i am 100% sure that 1 of 2 things is going to happen.

1. im going to be limited by my ram.
2. im going to be limited by my CPU core @ 16x multiplier (3330mhz~ is my top stable)


=)

Hopefully someone will happen across this with a Black Edition athlon x2, and wont have to go through the research like i did.



UPDATE:

I got the ram stable at 450mhz, but im not sure if i can go any higher.

3150mhz core@1.48v/14x multi (i can drop this to 1.4v if i dont get it back up to 3300), 225mhz fsb, 900mhz HyperTransport, 450mhz ram@2.08v.

This ram is Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800mhz 1.9v@ 900mhz 2.08v.... what do you think?=) should i push for 2.13v and 460mhz?
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 03:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

To get past 3.3ghz your going to need to bump your Vcore up to 1.6Volts whether you like it or not lol. Besides all you will be doing is running Super PI so you can always push it back to 1.48Volts later.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 03:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

What cooler are you using?

The memory isnt stable at 2.08v 900mhz (its stable enough to search the web, but Superpi is giving me NON CONVERGENT errors)

im going to push it to 2.13v... this is my last shot at it

(actually no, im not going to raise the voltage, im going to reduce the memory timings a little bit first)
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

Yeah Rich just keep lowering them and pushing the bus speed little by little. If I were to set the memory to 333mhz I couldn't boot. Never mind 400mhz lol.

Oh I m using the Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer, man I LOVE this cooler. My temps are like unbelievably low.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

nonono i mean the timings

5-5-5-18 @ 450mhz was ALMOST stable
6-5-5-18 @ 450mhz is stable (prime95 verified for the last 5~ min)
im going to push them to 470mhz (i know they will hit 470mhz, i just dont know what my timings will have to be)

and im not sure if its going to be any performance benefit in gaming.(superpi doesnt like the lower clock speed at 3150 right now, so i'll know more once the memory is at 470mhz 6-6-6-18 @ 470mhz, or 500mhz (if i push these things to 500mhz im going to be suprised.... to say the least)


My arctic cooling freezer 64 pro fan is 160mm. and it sits about 2mm above the ram, so cooling shouldnt be an issue (i mean its very very very close, almost touching the ram)
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

Lower the memory, since your overclocking the bus. It will go back up to about 800mhz anyways. CPU frequency > Memory frequency.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

thats the whole point of this test is to see if 470mhz ram (ddr2 940) 6-6-6-16 and 3290mhz core is going to be better than 3320mhz core, 415mhz (ddr2 830) 5-5-5-18

=) so far 460mhz ram, 3220mhz core is stable =)

EDIt, no its not, im going to bump the voltage up to 2.13 and see if that fixes it.

(this is the last voltage im setting, 2.13 is the MAX i will push thru this ram (actually migith go to 2.18 if i have to lol)


i mean, if i break the ram, it gives me an excuse to buy some good quality ddr1066 ram


I remember someone telling me Corsair XMS2 DDR2 ram isnt very overclocker friendly=)

This ram seems to be doing great!!!

the timings arent the best, maybe thats what they meant.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

I remember hearing this some where, once the memory frequency is over like 860mhz or so, it no longer makes a difference in SuperPI. Then its the CPU frequency alone that determines what time you get or not.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

Oh well i still want to push it to the limit

6-6-6-16 is no longer stable @ 460mhz

6-6-6-18 IS stable @ 460mhz

so uh... lol, im not sure if im going to hit 470, but im **** sure gonna try

current settings:

6-6-6-18, 460mhz @ 2.13v

And this is not JUST for superpi, its also to test the memory in my machine.

If it helps with gaming, then thats fine=)

(i agree though, the superpi times are getting worse and worse, as i loosen the memory timings.)

but who cares, if i get a good boost in FPS=)


i just want to push the ram to the limit, and see how high i can take it.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers.

I m an idiot when it comes to overclocking ram. So I wouldn't know personally. But from what I've been hearing once you hit around 960mhz~1ghz that's the limit.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Home Edition Troubles ChemicalMonkey Microsoft Windows and Software 34 01-20-2008 09:26 PM
Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition Highest Overclock andrewsvalesen Overclocking and Modding 21 11-24-2007 02:00 AM
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.