Athlon bridges - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2004, 05:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default Athlon bridges

i know about the athlon xp's bridges and how if you modify them you can unlock features as i have done with unlocking my multiplier on my thouroughbred 2200
now what other bridge modifications can i do to maximise my capabilities of my chip,
i have heared of voltage unlocking (if it exists)


also my friend with a thouroughbred 2000+ has unlocked his multiplier but can get 24*100, he has the same mobo and a extremely simelar CPU to mine but i cant go even to 21 without crashes?
why does this happen and how can i fix it?

thanks
wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 06:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Wayne, first of all do you have an AMD 2000+ or a 2200+?

I did a little math and came up with the following numbers.
An AMD 2000+ should run at 133MHz FSB * 12.5 multiplier = 1662.5 MHz or ~1.67GHz
An AMD 2200+ should run at 133MHz FSB * 13.5 multiplier = 1795.5 MHz or ~1.8GHz

If you want to maximize your chip's performance, increase the FSB speed back to normal. The Front Side Bus is the bottleneck between your processor and the RAM. The lower the FSB number, the slower your computer is going to go. If you're running your FSB speed at 100MHz, you have reduced your processor's ability by 25%.

To answer your question about the crashing. Every CPU is a little different, and some processors are capable of better performance than others. Even if you had two identically marked chips produced from the same factory, one would probably do better than the other. It sounds like your friend got a better chip than you did, thats the luck of the draw.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 06:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i have a 2200+ the caption below is wrong, i should really change it.
my frend says its something about the on chip cache. if i try different combos of fsb and multiplier adjustments i cant get too close to 2.1ghz without unstability. currently my cpu is at
134mhz * 15 = 2010

also ive heard about if i up the voltage i will get better stability and if i modify some other bridges i unlock something else
thanks
wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.