Athlon 64 3200+ vs. 3500+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default Athlon 64 3200+ vs. 3500+

Whats the difference between athlon 64 3200 and 3500 chip except $80?
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

the 3500+ is faster by a bit.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

I know it's supposed to be faster, but why?

They are both 2.2GHz!
__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Only skt 754 3200's are 2.2 ghz, but they are older technolagy
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 06:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yep, the socket 754 3200 has less pins then the socket 939 3500
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well the 3500 has more HTT, thats why.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

If you plan on overclocking go with the Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 (the 90 nanometer). It overclocks just as well as the 3500+ with just a VERY small increase in voltage. Check out this site: http://www.anandtech.com/printarticle.aspx?i=2242 You will be most impressed with the results and it also saves you much money.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well you can OC any AMD64 Winchester and get great results. You really dont want anything under a 3200 though.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 12:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
Well you can OC any AMD64 Winchester and get great results. You really dont want anything under a 3200 though.
thats not true. i seen some winchesters 3000+ oc better then the 3200, and the 3500. it just all about luck.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 12:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

Ok first things first you are looking at two platforms as a guy before me said. what do you want 939 or 754? Newcastle, Clawhammer for 754 or winchester for 939 (yes i know there are some newcastle chips for 939)? these are the first questions that you need to ask. then once you know that here are what i see to be the best options. a 3400 for the 754 or a 3200 for 939. the 3200 is good beacause you will get a fast chip but most will have some room for overclocking. with the 3000 as they are the slowest 939 chip avaliable if you are unlucky you will get one that will hardly be able to do the stock 1.8ghz and will not overclock anywhere or if you are lucky you will get 2.5-2.7. on my 3200 939 i have got 2.6 but can't reach higher.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.