Asus Pc Probe II or core temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2007, 12:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia, South Australia
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to mattchew13
Question Asus Pc Probe II or core temp

hello i was wondering what program should i believe to monitor my e6600 temps. asus pc probe II reports my cpu temp on idle around 40c but core temp reports them at idle 30c. what program should i believe?????????


i am also running a thermaltake big typhoon 120vx aftermarket cooler

mattchew13 is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 03:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
gurusan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Asus Pc Probe II or core temp

pc probe is the devil.

|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
MetalOwns's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Asus Pc Probe II or core temp

40* seems pretty high...I idle in the low to mid 20's with a stock cooler on my E6600. Trust coretemp. See what everest reports the temps as.
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 07:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
PRVRT's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Asus Pc Probe II or core temp

I have been using PC Probe II also. Right now shows cpu @ 56c. Core temp shows 46-51c. AI Suite also shows 56c. Might have to put a sensor on the cpu and see which is the closest. I here Core temp is one of the best.
PRVRT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 06:36 PM
Core Temp Nagasama Overclocking and Modding 3 09-09-2007 01:15 PM
+3.3V problem in Asus Probe bmass Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 08-18-2007 05:09 PM
Core Temp or Easytune 5? for temps advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 2 07-27-2007 10:53 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.