ASUS MOBO prob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2004, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to nehi
Default ASUS MOBO prob

ok, i ordered a shiz load of stuff from
asus mobo
ram and such

anyway. i got everything put together, and started her up
played with bios and got everything to where i wanted it. but when i go to load the OS it give me a "Boot Disk failure" message. and i tried to use the floppy and get it going with a start up disk but i didnt work as planned... instead i got


yeh, fun stuff
if someone can help me out, that would be great

thanks in advance

nehi is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 06:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to nehi

it wont let me boot from cd
i checked the cables and such, everything seems to be fine. and in bios, CD-rom is set as first device.

"If you got to A:\ type D: (whatever your CDROM is) and run setup from there."

what do you mean by whatever my CD-rom is

would i type
or something?

this is my first time building


nehi is offline  
Old 04-29-2004, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

see if you can disable all other drives except for the cd rom .
Or get a Boot Utility called MaxBlast 3 , this will set up most HD partion it etc also set it up for Fat 32 , NTFS etc ..
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-30-2004, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to nehi

thats the problem, it cant find drive D:...
what can i do to make sure the CD-rom is in the right place
beause it goes from the floppy just fine, but just doesnt actually read from the CD-rom
nehi is offline  
Old 04-30-2004, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431

Please explani how your floppy, primary and secondary ide connectors are pluged in.
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to nehi

nvm, me and a friend figured out that the IDE connectors have to be defective.
we loaded an OS from his computer onto my hard drive.
put the HD in my computer, didnt work
put his HD in my computer, didnt work
it would never boot from the CD-ROM
it would only see the Floppy and do something with it.

im going to send back the board, and get a new one
thanks for your help, took me 5 days to figure this out.
nehi is offline  
Old 05-04-2004, 10:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman

Well this may sound retarded but when my comp starts up I get a boot disk failure message also, I just press control+alt+delete and my comp restarts and then works fine. Try that it may work.
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 07:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722

Okay the problem might be that the XP CD that you have does not support CD-ROM boot. Some XP CD's were sent out that supported booting from the CD and other don't.

Does your friends boot from the XP CD if he tries? Some CD's do and some don't.

Does BIOS detect the CD-ROM drive? If so then there is nothing wrong with the hardware - you should create a "Windows XP Professional Boot Diskette".

It is usually unlikely that there is a problem with hardware (excluding hard drives because they are mechanical) because hardware is tested before sending out.

Good luck!

[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.