Asus laptop overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2012, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Europe,Estonia
Posts: 9
Default Asus laptop overclock

Hello , I want to overclock my laptops graphics card but i donīt know how , i have tried a lot of programs but nothing seems to be working for me but also i donīt have too much knowledge about computers ,just a little above average , so i thought that somebody could help me with my problem .
I want to play Battlefield 3 but system requirementslab said it wont run , but it said the same to Dirt, Dirt 2 , Far Cry 2 , CODMW and they all worked but for some it told the game will run great but just doesnīt , so i cant trust it ..
All my WEI scores are 5,9 but the windows aero performance is dragging it down to 4,6

System specs.

Asus K53e
Intel (R) Pentium (R) b940 dual core @2.00 Ghz
Intel Hd Graphics family
Ram 4 Gb DDR3
HDD 500 Gb
Running on Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
__________________

asusk53e is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

You can't. Or atleast last time I knew Intel on-die gpu's are not able to be over clocked.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

Dude I have almost the same laptop as you, Asus Pentium 3 2.3ghz, 4gb Ram, Integrated intel graphics and your not going to be able to play any of those games. Maybe on really low but it will look terrible and still wont run very smooth. The best games you will be able to play are source engine games (Half life 2, counter strike source, TF2) but even those only run well on low.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Europe,Estonia
Posts: 9
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

udpdating all the drivers makes mircales because dirt 2 and far cry 2 had really good graphich when i played it , but what windows do you have ? all the updates are done ? ... thing is on todays processors/graph cards amount of Ghz/Gbīs doesnīt really matter all that much .. it matters what you do with them ..you could have a pentium 4 running on 4-5 Gh but i dont think it would beat i3 or i5 on 3Ghz .. much as i know about the overclocking part of an intel processor is that there is actually a program for that just not for my Asus
asusk53e is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 01:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

You cant overclock your cpu on a laptop, it would get extremely hot anyway. You can do software level overclocking but its very limited and very unstable
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 10:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Europe,Estonia
Posts: 9
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

My laptop never gets hot actually , even not warm or anything .. i only need 10 - 15 % more power so heat woulnt be any problem anyway.. but what do you mean software level overclocking ? sorry if a dumb question but assistance of anykind would be very helpful !
asusk53e is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 04:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

True overclocking, the most common fashion of doing it and most stable, is done through the computer bios settings on the motherboard. On custom builds motherboards have a bios that has features for overclocking, asus laptops do not. Software level overclocking would be using a program in your operating system to manipulate the voltages and clock speeds of your processor and/or graphics processor. However, software overclocking is less stable, an unstable system being one prone to crashing programs, blue screen of deathing, etc. under heavy loads on the cpu.

Rep if i helped
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 09:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by asusk53e View Post
My laptop never gets hot actually , even not warm or anything .. i only need 10 - 15 % more power so heat woulnt be any problem anyway.. but what do you mean software level overclocking ? sorry if a dumb question but assistance of anykind would be very helpful !
What are your idle and load temps?
And what program are you using?
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 01:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikoman69 View Post
an unstable system being one prone to crashing programs, blue screen of deathing, etc. under heavy loads on the cpu.

Rep if i helped
Wouldn't that be blue screen of dieing?

@OP: No matter what your idle temps are, OCing takes a bit more to run. More power that your system can't take. The little that you could gain is minimal. If, at all.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-09-2012, 05:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Europe,Estonia
Posts: 9
Default Re: Asus laptop overclock

Problem solved ! :P actually didnīt need no overclock , downloaded Gamebooster and Crysis 2 works perefect at almost Max settings , tried whitout it and i had a huge lag even in minimum settings so it sure works for me , thank you all thought !
__________________

asusk53e is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asus 4890 and smart doctor overclock v8killaz Overclocking and Modding 8 10-11-2009 11:49 AM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
Help me Overclock my Q6600 B3 on a Asus P5k Deluxe Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 03:30 PM
Asus Ai Overclock Russdb7 Overclocking and Modding 3 07-28-2006 08:59 PM
I want to overclock my mothereboard asus P2L97 Psycomatis Overclocking and Modding 1 04-10-2005 10:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.