ASUS A8N32 SLI Deluxe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default ASUS A8N32 SLI Deluxe

Not familiar with my bios yet but I don't see how you overclock on this motherboard, however I've read reviews saying its really good at it. I was hoping someone with this motherboard could just walk me through it. Any other wisdom is welcome too.

And yes this is my first time doing this so I may be an idiot lol.
__________________

bum is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You should read up on how to overclock before you try and kill something.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

wow. wow. wow. first you should learn how to read. 2nd, read the freaking instruction manual that came with the motherboard. Then you slap yourself in the face for being a noob. PS- i have the same mobo
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Take a breath....

Do read the manual and all the information on overclocking that you can find that is not redundant. Do not rush through this endevour. Ensure that you are FULLY informed on the consequences of overclocking and the proper procedures.

There are 2 easy ways to overclock the components.

First and foremost: Make sure that you have enough cooling (i.e. aftermarket coolers) and make NO major jumps in system settings; secondarily: test each change prior to making another change. This is a time cosuming process, but wise and prudent if you do not want to destroy or damage your hardware.

First: Install the bundled software that came with the MoBo. One utility is the AI Overclock. This is run from the desktop, not the BIOS and provides a few automatic settings, the highest being 10%, the lowest being 1%. These are safe and easy changes.

Second: You can use the BIOS to manually overclock (Advanced settings in the BIOS menu) but I can not stress enough that you must know what you are doing as the components of PC's today are symbiotic.

Download a few harware monitoring/testing utilities (CPU-Z, RivaTuner, 3DMark06... and the list is endless), use these tools to your advantage.

A final warning: As with gambling, do not invest more that you can afford to lose! and OC'ing is not a "wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am" experience.

I have had excellent results fom my overclocking experience with this MoBo.

Hope this helps....Remember: READ, KNOW and THINK..
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Check out this forum for enlightenment:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert
AMD Opteron 185
OCZ Platinum 2GB(2 X 1GB) 3 3 2 8
EVGA 7900 GTX
OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt
LiteOn DVD Burner 16X w/Lightscribe
2-74GB Raptors (RAID)
WD 150GB Raptor
Mitsumi 1.44 Floppy
ATI TV Wonder Elite
Thermaltake Tai-Chi W/Built-in H2O (GPU & Chipset)
CoolIT Systems Freezone CPU Cooler
caveman4810 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

For the record I have an opteron 146 so I sort of feel obligated to at least see what my baby can do. Once I'm done breaking it in I'll slowly start cranking it up and once I find her limit I'll subtract 400 MHz (only for gamming) The rest of the time stock speeds are plenty so I'll leave it there. I'm really only planning on setting it at 2.4 GHz in the long term.

Oh and one more question: right now I'm clocking 2.01, its supposed to be 2.0. I didn't do that, so is that normal, good, or bad?
bum is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

ok now I've figured out how to manuelly do it and yes I slapped myself (twice) I Read alot before doing anything too.

Now I'm wondering should I continue through the BIOS or is the overclocking utility a better choice? Like are they the same other than where they run or what?

Oh I'm really only looking to test my system now, see what each component can handle one at a time, nothing else til I get good.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

No, always use the BIOS when overclocking a CPU.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

The BIOS is your freind.

OC Apps on the desktop are a complete joke....Never use them.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 02:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

unless it's the graphics
then you use an app. and don't touch the speed in the bios
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.