as5 is like glue! - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 07:00 AM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jimmyness
yes, well anywho, there was nothing wrong with the application, the stuff just goes hard, but like i said i cant put the card in the comp cos its agp and ive got a pci-e board now, but i heated it with a hairdryer and maganed to yank it off....................but when i did, a timy piece of tha mirrored plate that it sits on chiped off, i dunno what it is http://www.teschke.de/heatpipes/MSI-...u-seite-gr.jpg the thing that says ATI...gpu? anywho yea a nity piece like a mm deep and about 1mm long and 1.5mm wide chipped out, will it still wokr??, i just cant test it?
Quote:
Originally posted by jimmyness
and what about the chip in the vga i said about, is it gonna be ****ed?
Quote:
Originally posted by jimmyness
anyways back to my other question, is the vga vucked if the is a tiny chip in the shiney square gpu???
You cracked the GPU core. Chances are good your card is dead.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:47 AM   #42 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

WAA, i thought it was just gonna be a heat sink, i cant have broken, that cards worth like £120
__________________

jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:05 AM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

TRY THE CARD ALREADY!!!!!!!!!! what have you got to lose. i mean i'm assuming you were going to try it based on our guesses anyway so you really have nothing to lose. i am certain that it is not the core that has been damaged, the plate is just to provide a "good thermal interface"

Quote:
As far as I know its the most conductive element.
nope. gold is more conductive. but as elements under standard conditions go it is pretty dang conductive. there are of course superconductors but we won't include something where you need temperatures of like 4 kelvin
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 10:46 AM   #44 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
lol wouldnt it be funny, when he gets it off he finds out that he actually did put glue on, instead of as5.
wow ive been watchin this ever since he cracked the gpu core, and knew it, but thought you guys would point it out, till snake-eyes finally pointed it out on this page! lol, i knew that card was fried ever since he said it chipped, and ridlyn said, wouldnt it be funny if he actually used glue? how ironic ^_^
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:09 PM   #45 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jimmyness
WAA, i thought it was just gonna be a heat sink, i cant have broken, that cards worth like £120
That may be how much you paid for it, but now it is worth £0.

I don't think it was worth much more than that before you broke it, its just an AGP 6800...
The General is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:41 PM   #46 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

i cant test it, cos i have no agp board to test it on.

and in UK 6800 on ebay og for £100+ if the core is fuked no ones gonna want it
jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:58 PM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well i do know of people using Athlon XP's with chipped cores so if i were you i don't see harm in trying to find a friends pc you can test on or getting a shop to test it. if it's a friend it's free. if it's a shop you may be able to get them to do it for free or a small fee. if a small fee than at least you know whether you can sell it or not. as is it is worthless, if you check it you may get your £100 but if it is damaged at least you have an answer
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.