as5 is like glue! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 09:00 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
put it in an antistatic bag, then put it in the freezer for about half an hour. then take it out, and twist it clockwise and counterclockwise
I don't think anyone would ever put his high end card in a freeze

Just my opinion at least, lol.

-Jo
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:07 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I've done it before. it's fine, just as long as you don't get water on it (that's part of the reason I said use an antistatic bag aswell)

if you do get water on it, just let it dry. it will work when it's dry.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:34 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

k i have the smae prob with my cpu, i dont have an anystatic bag, would a snadwitch bag work.


and what about the chip in the vga i said about, is it gonna be ****ed?
jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:51 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Your going to put your whole motherboard in the freezer?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:24 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

.... I think you got the wrong AS5... I think you got the kind that is shipped with the glue that you mix to mount ramsinks and the such... Normal AS5 will not do that... It won't be that solid...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:33 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

wow...

this reminds me of one guy at XS who gave his motherboard a bath in acetone and it worked fine.


:freak:
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:02 AM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
wow...

this reminds me of one guy at XS who gave his motherboard a bath in acetone and it worked fine.


:freak:
Haha, wow..

I can't wait till someone throws their motherboard into the dishwasher.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:55 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is possible to do things like that......under certain conditions. i sure as heck wouldn't use acetone seeing as it can completely destroy the plastics on a motherboard not to mention i'm sure acetone is used as part of the "etching" process in making a pcb :amazed:
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:22 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default

k, maby i got sent adesive as5 but it dosnt say that it is, does normal as5 come in 2 parts??




anyways back to my other question, is the vga vucked if the is a tiny chip in the shiney square gpu???
jimmyness is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:33 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

my tube of AS5:



if it doesn't look like that then there is something wrong

i have no idea about the chipped surface of the GPU. my understanding is that that plate is basically a heatspreader. it should still work but it is kind of worrying. i guess you don't have anything better to than test it
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.