artifacts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2008, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default artifacts

using ati tool on my 8800gt 512, im getting artifacts at 700mhz. Is that low? just to be sure, i dont have to raise voltages like with the cpu do i? im running for artifacts now at 680 clock 950 mem with no problems so far

| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
MetalOwns's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: artifacts

What's the stock speed?

You can voltmod graphics cards, either via the GPU BIOS, or by using conductive ink on the card, to give the core/memory more voltage. I voltmodded my 7900GS, and got another 80-100Mhz out of it. Changing the voltages on graphics cards requires more work than changing the CPU voltage, just because of the nature of the work being done.

So if your artifacting, your at your max. You can either stop, or you can do some research and voltmod the card if you wish.

Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 11:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
ricanflow's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: artifacts

Some cards have more headroom than say thats fine.
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)

P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx

ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: artifacts

700 for an 8800gt is about normal really.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LG l226wtq-BF artifacts bkolk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 10-19-2007 05:26 PM
Artifacts - What exactly are these? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 17 09-16-2007 12:50 PM
Losing display, restarting, artifacts, not sure what's causing it. PILMAN Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 09-09-2007 05:00 PM
Battlefield 2 giving artifacts on 8800 GTS 320MB advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-04-2007 10:17 AM
bad artifacts...faulty video card? denni0302 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-23-2007 04:37 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.