Artic Silver vs Antec Silver - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2005, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default Artic Silver vs Antec Silver

So I'm going to try putting some thermal compound on my processor to try and cool it down. It's currently all stock. Current temps: Ambient 43 degrees celcius/ CPU 52 degrees celcius at idle.
Is Antec Silver compound as good, or ok to use instead of the much talked about Artic Silver? The reason being the Antec is easier to get for me. Here's the specs:

http://www.excaliberpc.com/images/551536_h/huge.jpg

http://www.excaliberpc.com/Antec_Sil...id-551536.html

Also does this stuff work ok on GPU's too? I've read the directions on how to do it but this will be a first for me. Thanks all.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Your local compusa has arctic silver if you need it. I dont know about antec silver, but I would always go with the tried and true method before taking the plunge on another product.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Im in Canada. I read a couple reviews online and guys seem to like it. Maybe i will try it out. I'll let ya know if it smokes after....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Oops, forgot that COmpUSA does not exist is Canada. I'm so stupid .
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

how much arctic silver 5 should i get at 1 time 3.5grams?? is that enought for how many applications?
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I think that should do at least 4 cpu's...thats what i read somewhere.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Well I applied the Antec Silver and it has dropped my CPU by 3 degrees. Been running for a couple hours now. I guess it works. Should I go for a new heat sink? Maybe I'll try newegg and see what the service is like to Canada....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

It will take up to 200 hours for arctic silver to full set and get the tempetures to there lowest. And there is enough in the 3.5gram tube to do 10 CPUs with the heat spreader, and like 40 of the CPUs that have the DIE exposed. And about 4-5 heatplates.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 01:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
And there is enough in the 3.5gram tube to do 10 CPUs with the heat spreader,
That's what their 'instructions' or whatever says, but realistically it can do a lot more than that...I've got a 3.5g tube that I bought a LONG time ago...thought it wouldn't last me that long at all and I've used it so many times I've already forgotten how many uses I've gotten out of it.

This is on both CPU's with the dies exposed, GPUs, and the AMD64s with heatspreaders on them

Quote:
Also does this stuff work ok on GPU's too?
Only difference between a CPU and a GPU is the first letter in the name.....other than that, they are both processors so of course it would work.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 02:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
That's what their 'instructions' or whatever says, but realistically it can do a lot more than that...I've got a 3.5g tube that I bought a LONG time ago...thought it wouldn't last me that long at all and I've used it so many times I've already forgotten how many uses I've gotten out of it.

This is on both CPU's with the dies exposed, GPUs, and the AMD64s with heatspreaders on them

Only difference between a CPU and a GPU is the first letter in the name.....other than that, they are both processors so of course it would work.
I mean should I bother?
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.