artic silver increased temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2010, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default artic silver increased temps

hey guys,

when i was swapping my computer into my HAF X case, i took the H50 out and cleaned the processor and the heat sink with isoprobal ( < stupid word ) alcohol, and when i put my computer back together i used Artic Silver to put it back on, i used a grain of rice amount and smeared a thin even layer across the processor, and screwed down the H50... now that i have ti all back together, temps are +15C across the board...

why come?
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

did you put paste on both the cooler and the cpu?
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 01:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

no...
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 02:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

What where you using before the swap? Thermal paste, pads, what brand? What did you use to spread the paste with? Which Artic Silver did you use? The Ceramic or whatever is worthless, and shouldn't be used, IMHO. I don't like AS, but if I have no other choice I use AS5.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 02:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

when i first installed the H50, i used the thermal compound that was pre applied to the H50. when i was swapping cases i used artic silver 5.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 08:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

Was it a wax type? Did you touch either surface after cleaning with your fingers? Are you sure there was NO oily residue? AS5 was some of the BEST 5 or so years ago, and many newer ones are similar, but, anyways, you do need to use the instructions given on the AS website for your processor, there are different methods for Intel/AMD, Single/Dual/Quad and for ones with out an IHS.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

Arctic Silver 5 was the best Thermal Paste available for a long time, but that changed a few years ago. Get some Tuniq TX-2, it's an exceptional paste with a low price tag.

Newegg.com - Tuniq TX-2 Cooling Thermal Compound
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

Did you re-set it a couple of times to make sure it was the paste and notjust a bad seating?
jfenwick is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 85
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

I just picked up a small syringe of Arctic Silver MX-3 and it is pretty good, just used for my motherboard heatsink so far. The guy working at the store (who is a builder and modder) told me that the thermal tape that corsair uses is the best solution for the h50. Don't know how true that is, or how it would explain your temps going up across your board.

Maybe there are some spots in your case where there is hot air cycling or just lingering. Have you put a second 20cm fan in the top of the case yet? I was thinking of maybe putting my H50 rad/fans in that slot as an exhaust, with a home made duct to direct it's intake from the 5.25" bays. I just can not accept the idea of using that back 140/120mm non filtered vent for an intake.
__________________
Intel i7-930 @ 2.8ghz/Asus Rampage III Extreme /G.Skill Trident DDR3-2000 3x2gb
eVGA GTX 480 SC/Corsair AX1200/Coolermaster Haf X
WD 1Tb 7200rpm 32mb cache sata2/LG DVD-RW/Windows 7
Logitech z-5500 Speakers/Logitech G5 Mouse/Generic Keyboard
Like2game is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 07:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: artic silver increased temps

i havnt reseated it, i heard that there is some curing time... but i dont think i will see a 15įC drop in temperatures.
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Official Tech-Forums Battlefield Bad Company 2 Discussion Bonifide_C PC Gaming 627 10-26-2010 06:37 PM
New core i7 is built !! high temps :( IBM/PS1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-08-2009 03:14 AM
AMD + Artic Silver = AMD warranty void. krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 18 08-02-2007 12:00 PM
help with artic silver 5 krazyq Overclocking and Modding 11 07-13-2007 06:16 PM
Preparing Cooler for Artic Silver ycoidi2000 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 08:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.