Argh underclocked! (cool as ever tho) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2004, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Angry Argh underclocked! (cool as ever tho)

Grrr... I got a nice 2.8ghz Pentium4 pc in parts for christmas and I assmbled them (ill tell ya specs in a sec) and the pc works fine. Just one problrm. It detects the 2.8ghz p4 chip as a 1.6ghz. Now the computer actually knows its 2.8 as it says it in control panel, but it only runs at 1.6. the pc has the following specs:

MSI p4mam-v Mobo
512DDR ram (333mhz)-All in one module
SBLive Card
Geforce4 graphics
DVD Rewriter and cdrom
and of course the offending 2.8ghz pentium4 chip

Now initially i thought it might be bios settings (the mobo doesnt have jumpers) but the cpu clock is 133 currently (allows any value to be changed as long as it is between 133 and 200) and the cpu clock is the only changable factor. The mulitplier is currently 12.0x133=1.6ghz and to work properly the multiplier has to be set to 21. Ive seen other motherboards of the same model (p4mam-v) accept this p4 chip without a problem, so is there a way to hardwire or somehow manually change this ratio? I need the power for my audio editing and i really wanna see it fly. Cheers, Kris
__________________

dakta is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Your mobo is the problem, you can only run PC2100 ram in there. That is why it is at 1.6ghz because your systems fsb is only 266.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 07:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Oh wow! Thanks, ill get that dealt with! Cheers man ill see how i cope
dakta is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default damn!

Well people the problem remains.

I downgraded to pc2100 ram and the processor is as 1.6gig as it ever was.

Ive replaced all the memory from 2100 to 3200 via 2700. The motherboard has been replaced. Soon the chip itself will be replaced. Just what the hell is going on? I took it to a shop earlier and they could find no reason why the parts are incompatible!

CPU Freq: 133
DRAM: 133

- just in case that helps

currently got 2700 ram on a mercury ps661-fxm-l mobo
dakta is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Looks like a nice motherboard , and supports 200/266 ram so you can run upto pc 3200 ddr , are you sure the cpu is what you say iit is ? there is a bios update on the msi site that updates the cpu mirocode , what ever that means ??

heres your mobo ....http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...MAM-V&class=mb
__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
and supports 200/266 ram so you can run upto pc 3200 ddr
What are you talking about, 266 is PS2100, PC3200 is 400, but what I don't get is that the website says both sort of.

I don't understand their info though it says:

• Supports Four memory banks using two 184-pin unbuffered DDR200/266 DIMM

which means only up to PC2100, then up here it says:


• 2 DIMMs w/ DDR400 upto 2GB so that means PC3200 then again it says:

Supports DDR 200/266 SDRAM.

which again is PC2100...soo yeah I don't fully understand their memory labeling system there.


EDIT: Dakta, have you made sure to adjust the CPURAM ratio in your BIOS from 1:1 to what it should be? If it's sitting at 1:1 in the BIOS then the RAM and CPU are going to be forced to match up to the appropriate speed and in this case since the RAM won't go above 133 neither will the CPU.

You need to have like a 3:2 kind of ratio between CPURAM so the CPU can be at 166 and the RAM be at 133
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Make sure, that if the option suggests, that in your BIOS you selected "Load Optimized Defaults", that scared me a lot and I had the same problem with an AMD XP.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

i took your advice and carefully i boosted my pc. Its now boosted 2.4Ghz but i cant take it at or above 2.5/2.6 or else my system becomes unstable bus is now at about 860mhz and fsb is 207mhz and my memory is 2700. what next people? thanks for the so far support you nerly got me there.
dakta is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 09:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The FSB is too low as everyone says
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Dude, did you check your BIOS for CPURAM Ratio options?

There should be no 'boosting' involved, simply setting the CPU at what it needs to be at and making sure the RAM doesn't follow it
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.