Argh, this is such a pain. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2008, 03:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 27
Default Argh, this is such a pain.

Well, I really have read everything here before trying to dive in. I mean, I don't even know if I want to overclock, but someone told me not overclocking a Phenom processor is basically a waste.

I tried using AMD OverDrive first, but I can't move any of the sliders, so i re-installed it and no luck still.

So, I guess I'll be doing it the old fashion way.

My setup:

Case:
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower

CPU:
AMD Phenom(tm) 9600 Quad-Core Processor, MMX, 3DNow (4 CPUs), ~2.3GHz

PSU:
Rosewill Stallion Series RD500-2DB ATX V2.2 500W

Motherboard:
ASUS M3A AM2+/AM2 AMD 770

Ram:
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

Stock cooling, with the fan that came with it. I don't have the side panel on my case, and I can't hear it at all. Right now it's running at around 45C
__________________

Shocky is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 03:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Argh, this is such a pain.

im sorry, what is ur question?
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Argh, this is such a pain.

I think he basically wants someone to walk him through overclocking using bios which I believe should be the only way of doing it.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Argh, this is such a pain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
I think he basically wants someone to walk him through overclocking using bios which I believe should be the only way of doing it.
Pretty much, I'd hate to fry my new computer due to not doing something correctly.
Shocky is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Argh, this is such a pain.

with stock cooling you won't be able to overclock that much because it won't cool the cpu enough to keep it within safe temperatures.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Argh, this is such a pain.

Yeah, luke is right. You need to get some aftermarket cooling off Newegg, or somewhere so you won't be making breakfast on that rig. Also grab some programs like CPU-Z, and coretemp. These programs hold some nice information that you'll need for overclocking your cpu
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Argh! Need a replacement fan for my northbridge! Trotter Overclocking and Modding 13 07-16-2008 04:49 PM
Epson Stylus C66 ARGH gloomer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 11-29-2007 01:51 PM
ARGH!! I got the WRONG part!!! OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 23 07-26-2007 06:58 AM
on board gfx is becoming a pain in the bum Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-02-2007 06:00 PM
Sweat deal on a Xbox has been a long winded pain in the but. Kharn Microsoft XBox 9 05-30-2007 06:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.