Arctic Silver 5 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2004, 10:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

not usualy

EDIT: Srry that makes it sound like it happens, i have never heard of a program damaging the cpu as long as the hs and cpu are seated correctly
__________________

__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 01:00 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

so is it true though that using a cpu burn in program will help speed up the as5 changing process thus lowering the temps? Because with this coolermaster jet 4, my temps havent changed much at all, so i'm just guessing that the as5 hasnt "setup" into its form that it needs to conduct the heat properly. Or is something else wrong?
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 11:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

my exp with AS5 is that is starts working right away. Anyone else?
__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 12:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I used AS5 and it worked right from the start.

I would like to know if you cleaned the processor before you applied the AS5.

I would like to say that my processor has always ran on the hot side of things. i'm at about 48-49 C idle and about 53-54 under load. I look at it like this: If the processor ever burns up, then it's obviously time to upgrade.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 01:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

yeah I cleaned it off with some isopryl alcohol really well and put my jet 4 on and my temps are still in the upper 40s at idle and mid 50s at load. So I don't think I've done anything wrong but I don't know what to do now...
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 02:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

My motherboard has a feature called "Speed fan" (i think). Anyway, its a program that controlls the speed of your CPU fan in order to lower the noise level. Mine is in the BIOS and all you do is disable the feature and your fan should run at full speed all the time.

By the way, what were your temps before you installed the jet 4? and How are you monitoring your temps?
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 03:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

my jet 4 has a speed controller and I've kept it full blast since ive installed it...my temps before were idle upper 40s and on full load mid-upper 50s...I use sisoft sandra and my bios to monitor my temps. any suggestions?
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 11:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Those programs should work fine for monitoring temperatures.

Sounds like your old cooling system was doing just fine.

Is there a reason you are worried about your temperatures?

Maybe you should start another topic and ask other people with similar processors what their temperatures are. Be sure to include the type of core you have. (Northwood, Prescott, etc.)

It's my opinoin that you shouldn't worry so much about your temps. If your computer is crashing because of high temperatures, then you should worry.

Also, What is the ambient temperature where your computer is? If the ambient temperature is high, the heatsink/fan can only do so much.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 11:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

alright I'll start the new topic, my ambient temps are pretty low...I keep a celing fan and a stationary fan both on full blast and it gets pretty damn cold in here lol.

As far as me getting worried, when playing a demanding game such as Farcry, generals, UT2k4, my temps get to the point to where the pc freezes, when it gets to 60C.
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 05:31 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Hmmm... Freezing up? I used to have issues like this with my old video card.

Have you tried running a program called Prime95? Its basically a torture test for hardware. (I don't think it tests the video card.)The reason i suggest this is: If your computer is just freezing up, it doesn't sound like a cooling issue for your processor. It may lie in another component. It is my understanding that if your processor overheats, your computer will just shut down. You can also try a program called Memtest86. It puts your RAM to the test.
If you want to do a test with Prime95 you should probably let it run for a minimum of 8 hours. I ran mine for 20+ hours with no errors- rock solid system. I've never froze-up on Far cry or UT2K4.
The same applies to Memtest86, Let it run for several hours to really get a good test.
One final thing you might look into is lowering the quality settings for your graphics. I know that no one wants to play an awesome game like Far Cry on low settings, but you might give it a try as a test to see if your computer still freezes up. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.