Anyone overclocked a 3200+ venice on a Gigabyte GA-K8N-SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default Anyone overclocked a 3200+ venice on a Gigabyte GA-K8N-SLI

I was just wondering (the topic says it all) if anyone had overclocked a AMD athlon 64 3200+ Venice core with a stock amd cooler on a GIGABYTE GA K8N-SLI Mobo
At the moment I have not overclocked it and it has a core temperature of 14 degrees celcius
Anybody know what temp is healthy
that would also help
how about voltages
i no how to change all this stuff but im a bit afraid of doing anything lethal
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

LMAO. 14*C, that's what you call a bug. There's no way in **** that your CPU is running at that temperature. Anyway that being said your motherboard isn't that great for overclocking. You can go pretty far with a Venice core Athlon. I wouldn't be surprised if you hit something like 2.7GHz. My 3000+ hits that easily. Keep your voltage under 1.6 and your fine. As for temps (doesn't really matter because there's no accurate reading on your motherboard) keep it under 50*C under full load and your fine.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 07:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

im actually using this gigabyte utility to find the cpu temp, its called easytune 5
it came with my mobo
is there any way to get a more accurate temperature reading?
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 03:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 59
Default

Sorry Mophead,
Gigabyte boards are highly stable but they are horrible for Overclocking. Also are you on stock cooling? If you want to O/C well. Look into DFI/ASUS/MSI with an aftermarket cooler you will definately be happy.
__________________
i traded my computer for a paintball gun :D
epikz is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 03:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

I no they suk for OCing but im just having some fun
u no nothing huge
anyway i OC'ed it from 2GHz to 2.2GHz today and I'm going to leave it at that because it is running stable and benchmarking significantly higher than before
thanks for helping!
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.