Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2008, 09:59 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Vernong1992...thanks for reassuring.
Clint Eastwood...what motherboard do you have? You might have said earlier but in quickly skimming I didn't catch it if you said it.
__________________

mikeynavy1976 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 10:37 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

This one.

Newegg.com - DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
__________________

Clint Eastwood is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 12:53 AM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

I tried looking up the manual but that part of DFI's site wasn't working. What the others have said is correct though. Once you have your processor overclocked and stable the best way to keep the memory stable is to make sure it has a little more voltage...but not too much. Since your memory is rated to run at those times at 2.1V I wouldn't go over 2.2V, especially if you don't have any kind of cooler on your memory. When you set it at 2.1V what does your BIOS say it is at. Many motherboards suffer (if you want to call it that) from Vdroop...meaning the actual voltage isn't quite what you enter it as. On mine, if I enter 2.1V it usually ends up at between 2.06 and 2.08V. I don't know if memory manufacturers take that into account so you may want to put your voltage a little higher than 2.1 until the actual value reads 2.1. Then try the EPP timings (and you should find the command line in one of the memory settings to put at 2...or 2T). I also would be cautious with your memory timing. While the FSB for the processor is at 1600MHz you don't want your memory at that...haha. If you have 800MHz memory...I wouldn't go over 1000MHz until you have your system stable and know it can handle it.
mikeynavy1976 is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 03:40 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

clint i have the same board you do and the same processor.... to get 3.2, just leave everything at stock and simply raise the fsb to 400. shouldn't have to increase anything therefor not increasing temps by much if at all.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 10:49 AM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

I ended up getting mine to 3.8, stable before I stoped. 3.2 should be very easy....
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 01:48 PM   #36 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Well I tried to overclock mine to 3.4GHz (currently at 3.2GHz) and even at 1.3V (that was a chore in itself trying to figure out what voltage settings to change to get overall CPU voltage to change) I it will boot into Windows just fine but fails Prime 95 rather quickly with an error. What voltage settings do people recommend I try to get it stable at 3.4...and maintain long-term reliability. Temps didn't seem to high...hit 60C under full load but ambient temp was 27/28C. My motherboard is a EP45-DS3R and my memory is Corsair Dominator (8GB at 2.13V).
mikeynavy1976 is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 04:04 PM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

i have a QX9650 coming
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 06:54 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
i have a QX9650 coming
I now officially hate you more...

First the HD 3850, then the 8800gts g92, then the HD 4850, now the QX9650...

I'd really kill somebody to get hardware like that
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 12:14 AM   #39 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
i have a QX9650 coming
you're insane.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 12:51 PM   #40 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

i got it for really cheap, going to have a few benching sessions then put it up for sale and hopefully make 100 or more quid
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9450 (Retail) for $299.99 at microcenter maroon1 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 07-03-2008 05:00 AM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
Intel Shows Off Insanely Overclocked Aircooled Nehalem But We Can't Tell You How Fast Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 12 06-09-2008 07:38 AM
intel Q9450 overclocking Da Viksta Overclocking and Modding 3 04-05-2008 08:01 PM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.