Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2008, 07:43 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In My Own Reality...Quite Comfy Really...
Posts: 128
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

3.2 is easy on that chip. im running mine stable at 3.2 no probs. just set everything to auto and ramp up the FSB to 400 and set ur multiplier to 8. easy as pie...mmm....pie...speaking of pi...http://www.techist.com/forums/f10/tech-forums-official-superpi-1m-top-list-169586
__________________

PhikMan is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 07:38 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Here are some results after I got the Xigmatek S1283 installed.



Does that look right, or do I need to change timings on the RAM as well?

Thanks.
__________________

Clint Eastwood is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 02:32 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In My Own Reality...Quite Comfy Really...
Posts: 128
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

i would put ur ram timings up to the EPP profile and see how it handles, remember to put up ur ram voltage as well! cause looking at that there is room for heaps better latencys, ergo, better speeds...
PhikMan is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 05:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhikMan View Post
i would put ur ram timings up to the EPP profile and see how it handles, remember to put up ur ram voltage as well! cause looking at that there is room for heaps better latencys, ergo, better speeds...
Is the EPP profile in the BIOS? I see a bunch of DRAM options, but I can't really distinguish what I can adjust and what I shouldn't mess with. How do I know how much to increase voltage?
Clint Eastwood is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 02:18 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In My Own Reality...Quite Comfy Really...
Posts: 128
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

ok, in the bios you should see options like DRAm frequency, timings, command rate and voltage.
try setting ur DRAM timings to 4,5,4,11 straight down the line. then set ur command rate to 2t and lastly increase ur DRAM voltage to 2.100 V.
if all else fails when ur trying to find what settings are what. look in ur mobo manual and try to match the names of the settings to the labels in CPUZ EG:



the first red square is the names of the settings and the seconds is the settings you want to set it too.
PhikMan is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 08:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

To add a little more data. I have played with mine, unsure about differences in core temps, both at idle and at load. In an ideal situation, obviously, they'd all be the same at idle and under load. I've tried twice on two different Q9450s (mine and my brother's) and come up with similar results. At 3.2GHz my temps, using RealTemp2.6 are:
Idle:
Core 0 - 35C
Core 1 - 35C
Core 2 - 38C
Core 3 - 38C

Prime95 100% load at 15 minutes (stable temps):
Core 0 - 56C
Core 1 - 51C
Core 2 - 54C
Core 3 - 54C

Ambient temp was 27C (81F) and CPU fan is set at auto. It hit 2400rpm (max possible is 2800rpm so still a little left). I assume the core differences are ok? In looking on the Internet it looks like most people have some variance in their core temps. I also used AS5 so I may get a few degrees more drop as the compound cures.
mikeynavy1976 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 09:06 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

I don't think your idle and load temperature would ever be the same.
Clint Eastwood is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 09:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Sorry...I misspoke. What I meant to say is that all four cores would have identical temperatures. In other words they would all be 35C at idle and all be in the low to mid 50sC at load.

I've tried twice to reseat my heat sink with Arctic Silver 5 in the hopes that the perfect scenario would occur...all 4 cores showing identical temps but I believe that is asking too much, the more I research. Any thoughts? What are acceptable variances in core temps? I believe that the last two cores are on the bottom (when the chip is vertical) which may cause slightly increased temps (more heat trapped). Everywhere I look I also see that Core 0 is usually the highest under load but I don't know why. Just curious to make sure I have a good chip.
mikeynavy1976 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 09:17 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Its fine if they aren't the same temps amongst each core, usually its always different
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 09:40 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Well, I set the timings to 4, 5, 4, 11 and the DRAM voltage to 2.10. The computer turned on, but the monitor did not give me a screen.

I couldn't find command rate in the BIOS, so that was not changed.

I just reverted back to auto settings for RAM and the same FSB and multiplier for the CPU.
__________________

Clint Eastwood is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9450 (Retail) for $299.99 at microcenter maroon1 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 07-03-2008 05:00 AM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
Intel Shows Off Insanely Overclocked Aircooled Nehalem But We Can't Tell You How Fast Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 12 06-09-2008 07:38 AM
intel Q9450 overclocking Da Viksta Overclocking and Modding 3 04-05-2008 08:01 PM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.