Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2008, 01:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

nah I wasn't making a joke, I would just set the vcore to your max comfortable limit, then set a stupid high clock and work backwards til its stable. Then see if you can knock the vcore down a bit.

I would keep it under 1.4v
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 01:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

use realtemp for 45nm intel chips. Coretemp gives you measurements 10 degrees too high because of the tmax they use (105). Realtemp uses tmax (95). I have a link somewhere i can find when i get back home.
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 04:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

definitely keep it under 1.4 if your idle temps at stock are that high....

if a chip is going to do a high overclock, its gonna do it the first time you try it (with maybe a few minor tweaks) just as well as it would the second or third...if you just got the chip you need to burn it in before you try some crazy overclock, cos it will likely just fail...for example my e8400 would not run 3.8 at 1.25v until after i burned it a day or two, now it does it no sweat. a couple days worth is good enough...high voltage, hot cpu is the way i look at it...some people dont do it. gurusan's idea of setting the vcore up and going for a high fsb (500 fsb...? = NO WAY lol it aint gonna post 500 without some pretty good tweaking *ram NB SB line-load PLL etc etc*, if even then depending on your mobo etc etc). just make sure to adjust your ram speed.
i'd go 1.3V, 400-450 FSB first shot keep ram at/under rated speed and see what happens. keep an eye on those temps, cos i can assure once they go past the limit of the cooler (if they do) they are gonna go up REAL fast.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 04:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Plus his VID is pretty good (kind of high for a 45nm... )

But he should still get pretty far, expecting his Multiplier not limit him
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 04:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
on a 45nm cpu, 1.35vcore is not as low as it would be on a 65nm, like your e6600, and my q6600.

Eastwood, do you have $35 laying around? You would benfit from an aftermarket heatsink because those idle temps are terrible, although to be expected from a stock intel heatsink.
I ordered a Xigmatek S1283, it'll probably get here by Wednesday of next week. I got the Artic Silver compound too, which should help.
Clint Eastwood is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 04:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

yeah i guess that is a good VID for a quad...my 8400's is 1.225
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Plus his VID is pretty good (kind of high for a 45nm... )

But he should still get pretty far, expecting his Multiplier not limit him
Multiplier is limited at 8.

I don't quite understand this VID thing. So if I raise the FSB I have to raise the VID? How do I know how much to raise it?
Clint Eastwood is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

the VID is just the default volts of the CPU, dont worrie about it
lukas is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 02:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clint Eastwood View Post
Multiplier is limited at 8.

I don't quite understand this VID thing. So if I raise the FSB I have to raise the VID? How do I know how much to raise it?
I know

It'll probably limit your overclock though, unless you have a board that can go really high FSB
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone here overclocked a Intel Q9450 before?

I'm not trying to get past 3.2, so I don't think I'll have a problem.
__________________

Clint Eastwood is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9450 (Retail) for $299.99 at microcenter maroon1 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 07-03-2008 05:00 AM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
Intel Shows Off Insanely Overclocked Aircooled Nehalem But We Can't Tell You How Fast Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 12 06-09-2008 07:38 AM
intel Q9450 overclocking Da Viksta Overclocking and Modding 3 04-05-2008 08:01 PM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.